Autumn Spiced Butternut Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is a perfect use of butternut squash from the garden. I used twice the amount of cinnamon but half the amount of ground cloves because I thought the cloves would be too aggressive for our personal tastes. It came out perfectly. The flavor and texture are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by theloghomekitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This yields a lot of batter, so I opted to make some muffins in addition to a loaf. For those not knowing how to achieve a cooked butternut squash, just cut in half lengthwise, brush the insides with olive oil and place the flesh side down on a foil lined cookie sheet. Bake at 400 degrees for 30-45 min depending on the size until they are fork tender. Then just scoop out the meat into a bowl and use a potato masher or hand mixer to puree. The texture is just right whether you make quick bread loaves or muffins. Not too dry or crumbly when you bite in. The ratio of spices was perfect in my opinion. I ended up icing some which hubs enjoyed. A nice alternative to canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I use some of my gardens beautiful butternut squash and the recipe did it justice! yummy good with morning Coffee! I followed the recipe and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ
Home Town: Waterville, Washington, USA
Living In: Colbert, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Thanks! This is one of the best quick bread recipes I've found on here. The only change I made was to use splenda instead of sugar. It rose well and cooked evenly on the inside and the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristieg
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Even my kids loved these! I replaced the shortening with 1/3 c. applesauce and 1/3 c. canola oil. This recipe made 24 nice muffins so I did the first dozen without nuts and the second with 1/3 c. chopped walnuts. They took 30 minutes in the oven at the same temperature. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristieg
Home Town: Rush City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Iused butter instead of shortening, and I replaced 1 cup of sugar with 3/4 cup of raw honey, adding about 1/4 tsp. of baking soda to complement that. I used 1/3-1/2 as much cloves, as that's what I had, and added a couple of dashes of nutmeg. Next time I'll probably spice it up more, as the flavor was quite mild, but still it's really yummy. I don't doubt it would have been just as good without any changes. Maybe it was just luck, but this bread came out as well as any quick bread I've ever made: really moist, but totally cooked through even in the center and not too tough or crusty on the edges -- not too easy a feat for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
made as mini and regular muffins, they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Great recipe -- easy to make, and quite delicious! I substituted 2/3 cup shortening for 1 cup butter, and added twice as much cinnamon. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Love this recipe! Great way to use butternut from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedBeaumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly with exception of leaving out cloves and adding a tsp. of ground Nutmeg. It was moist and tender with a great taste and pleasing "spicy" smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooninAries Awakening

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States