Autumn Spice Ham Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
My husband ate this, my 5 year old ate this, my 1 1/2 year old ate this and this is one happy mama! The only thing I changed was that I removed the ham steaks, added 1/2 tbsp of additional butter then cooked the apples w/ syrup. (I was in a hurry and the apples didn't seem to be getting done on top of the ham) After the apples were nice and carmelized, I returned the ham to the pan. Nice recipe, Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Quick & easy to make and IT TASTES GREAT! I used brown sugar instead of maple syrup because I didn't have any on hand. I kind of made my own by mixing together slightly less than a 1/4 cup of brown sugar with a 1/4 cup of water and several tablespoons of Kero syrup in a large Pyrex measuring cup. (Who cares about calories) I heated it to a boil in the microwave for about 2.5 minutes. Watch not to boil over. :o) I also used Allspice as sugested by another reviewer. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
My husband wasn't excited about this because he always has to have pineapple with ham steak, BUT he loved this and I thought it was really good myself. Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Very yummy! I grilled my ham steak and cooked the apples separately. I used two of each apple otherwise we wouldn't have had enough to go around. I served this with fresh shredded yams sauteed in a little butter with raisins thrown in and a quick drizzle of maple syrup added. The yams cook up super quick and go great with the flavor of the ham steak. It's 110 degrees here in Phoenix but this meal made it feel like fall! Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was delicious and very easy. I followed the recipe pretty closely except I peeled the apples and added a squirt of horseradish sauce to the maple syrup to cut the sweetness a tad and add a bit of bite. My husband loved it and there were no leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This recipe was very quick, very easy and Very Good! I made the glaze with apples separately and let the ham steaks marinate in the sauce for a few hours before reheating and serving. Someone had wondered of a good side dish for this meal... Sweet Potatoes! I'll make this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
My husband is a goold old Italian boy, brought up on Momma's home cooking. I tried this recipe one night and we BOTH absolutely loved it! There was NOTHING left over!!!! And it's fairly quick and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMI777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This recipe is quick, easy, and delicious! My family loved this. I added allspice instead of cinnamon and this worked out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Great flavor. I really enjoyed this, DH said "he is not a ham person" but if I wanted to make it again he would eat it and he will definitely be eating it again. I sliced 1 gala and 1 granny smith apple and put the slices in a bowl, sprinkled some brown sugar on top and microwaved covered at 50% power for 2 minutes while the ham was browning in the frying pan. Put the apples on top of the ham and sprinkled with the cinnamon and simmered for 5 minutes. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This tasted absouletly BRILLIANT. i LOVED it and so did my BEAUTIFUL cherubs. I stronlgy recommend trying out this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States