Autumn Spice Ham Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I was a little disappointed in this. I expected the apples and syrup to add some sweetness, but the apples didn't pick up much maple flavor and the resulting sauce was actually a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I cooked the apples first in butter, syrup, cinnamon and even a little brown sugar til tender. Set aside. Cooked the ham in a little of the sauce from the apples. Drained the watery ham after the ham was done. Then added the apples and all of the remaining sauce to the hot ham. DIVINE!!! Absolutely divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was the recipe of the day on 10/20/12... I was sitting at my in-laws place,ealy in the morning, trying to figure out what to make for dinner after we came back from the casino... And this recipe sounded easy, quick, and delicous. I read several of the reviews and also felt 2 apples was not enough. So, I added 2 more apples. The other change I had to make was to cook the ham seperate (not my kitchen, didn't have proper pan), keep it warm, and prepare the apples. I added a little more butter and sauted the 4 sliced apples. When they were almost done, I put the ham back in. I also made stuffing with this meal and steamed green beans. The only bottle of the wine in the house was a semi-sweet red Bully Hill.. Not the best match, but it was good enough. Every body raved how good the house smelled while I was making dinner, and how great the meal was. I have added this recipe to my recipe box, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifesChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
So easy and very good. My husband loved it. I did cover it after I added the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
there is no substitute for REAL maple syrup... makes a difference. Excellent recipe otherwise. Added some raisins to the mix. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Yum. Made it exactly as stated. The kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was a very nice change from how we usually have our ham steaks. I followed the directions and also added a bit of allspice. I thought it would be sweeter, but it was just right to compliment the ham! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So yummy and simple to make. I sauteed the apples a little longer by themselves so they would get soft. A perfect fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
absolutely amazing the second time I made this I added a couple spoons of brown sugar, a pnch of allspice and some chilli flakes and it gave it just that little bite that warms the flavour in your mouth. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Les

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States