Autumn Spice Ham Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Not enough flavor in this for me. However, a nice recipe for a quick ham entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I had to make a few slight changes for this to be fantabulous, so I gave the recipe 4 stars as is. First, because it doesn't say, be sure to use unsalted butter, the ham adds more than plenty of salt to the recipe, no extra is required. I reduced the butter by 1/3 (ie 1 TBS) and sauteed the apples in it, then added the syrup and apples, which I cooked until they were almost done. I added the ham steaks and cooked them until they were heated through, which was enough time to allow the apples to finish cooking to perfection. As others stated, double the apples; they are so delicious on their own or in every bite. Under no circumstances use pancake syrup...yuck. Use REAL maple syrup; it was more than sweet enough and didn't taste artificial. Next time, I plan on reducing the amount of syrup by 1/4 or more; as it was a bit too sweet for my tastes. I made extra for leftovers so that I could fill buckwheat crepes with the ham and Swiss cheese. I heated until ham was warm and cheese was melted. I warmed the apples and spooned them and juice over the top. It makes for the absolutely most delicious lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was delicious! Easy and yummy, I didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seamus820

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I was a little disappointed in this. I expected the apples and syrup to add some sweetness, but the apples didn't pick up much maple flavor and the resulting sauce was actually a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I cooked the apples first in butter, syrup, cinnamon and even a little brown sugar til tender. Set aside. Cooked the ham in a little of the sauce from the apples. Drained the watery ham after the ham was done. Then added the apples and all of the remaining sauce to the hot ham. DIVINE!!! Absolutely divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was the recipe of the day on 10/20/12... I was sitting at my in-laws place,ealy in the morning, trying to figure out what to make for dinner after we came back from the casino... And this recipe sounded easy, quick, and delicous. I read several of the reviews and also felt 2 apples was not enough. So, I added 2 more apples. The other change I had to make was to cook the ham seperate (not my kitchen, didn't have proper pan), keep it warm, and prepare the apples. I added a little more butter and sauted the 4 sliced apples. When they were almost done, I put the ham back in. I also made stuffing with this meal and steamed green beans. The only bottle of the wine in the house was a semi-sweet red Bully Hill.. Not the best match, but it was good enough. Every body raved how good the house smelled while I was making dinner, and how great the meal was. I have added this recipe to my recipe box, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WifesChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
So easy and very good. My husband loved it. I did cover it after I added the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
there is no substitute for REAL maple syrup... makes a difference. Excellent recipe otherwise. Added some raisins to the mix. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States