Autumn Spice Ham Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Very yummy! I grilled my ham steak and cooked the apples separately. I used two of each apple otherwise we wouldn't have had enough to go around. I served this with fresh shredded yams sauteed in a little butter with raisins thrown in and a quick drizzle of maple syrup added. The yams cook up super quick and go great with the flavor of the ham steak. It's 110 degrees here in Phoenix but this meal made it feel like fall! Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was delicious and very easy. I followed the recipe pretty closely except I peeled the apples and added a squirt of horseradish sauce to the maple syrup to cut the sweetness a tad and add a bit of bite. My husband loved it and there were no leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Perfectly spiced ham.....not too sweet....just plain delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is absolutely delicious! I've made this several times now, and always have to double the recipe. My husband and teenage sons and their friends inhale this every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYJO definitely not a pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I've made this twice now, once for my husband's office-mates because they saw (and smelled) the leftovers he took to work the first time. Everyone seems to like it. It has a really nice flavor, not as sweet as I would have thought, and it's super fast. It's not gourmet, but I'll make it every now and then. I used sliced ham instead of hamsteak. I think it would be nice with chopped pecans or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This is great. I tried this receipe this week. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Quick and easy, this looks great on the table on my old oval platter. My guests always ask for the recipe. I get the butcher to cut a slice of honey ham 1” plus. I brown both sides and then put in the rest of the ingredients and simmer until the ham is ready to serve. The house smells wonderful! Thank you Lesley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This was good. I love the apples with the maple syrup. I used real maple syrup. I always put applesauce on my pork and this is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I guess we were expecting more from this recipe. We just didn't taste the maple syrup all that much in the ham, and it was browning and simmering in it for quite a while. We had to go to the refrigerator and get some horseradish mustard to add some "oomph" to the ham. Not a bad recipe, just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Very delicious, quick and easy. I used a few more apples and added a little honey/mustard when eating the ham. Not too "mustardy" though as to take away from all the other delicious flavors going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States