Autumn Spice Ham Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
We really liked this. We did as others suggested and did the ham first, then the apples, then combined them. It was so easy. Great for the season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
So easy, and so yummy. We really enjoyed the flavors that made ham special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Everyone liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was a welcome dinner on a cool autumn night. It's better if you do not overcook the apples. We used sugar free maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was good- I will make it again but not a regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
We loved it! It is actually similar to what I do already to ham steaks. But the difference is I never thought to add apples. After reading the reviews I decided to cook the ham, then remove them from the skillet and add the apples to cook seperately. Then i returned the ham to the skillet. Perfect! I was afraid the apples would not soften enough. I used granny smith apples. Good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We never really liked ham much until this recipe. Since we are cooking for only two, the syrup didn't cover the ham and couldn't really reach the apples to flavor them. The first time we made it, after a few minutes we pulled the ham out and placed the ham on top of the apples. Even then, the apples didn't pick up much flavor. So the second time we heated the ham, then set it in a warm oven. We cooked the apples directly in the syrup, butter and cinnamon over medium heat with a lid covering them. When the apples were soft, we put the ham on top of them, covered it and cooked a bit more. We both were loved the variation. Oh, and we added extra cinnamon because my husband is a cinnamon fanatic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very good and easy. Even my picky 2 yr. old liked it. I used only green apples and real maple syrup because that is what I had on hand. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was very good. My children loved the apples. I'm rating it a four star recipe only because I have another glaze recipe that I use that I like better. Next time I will combine the two recipes and it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Yummy fall recipe! Added apples in with ham, right in the beginning, After frying the ham, I removed it to a warm plate, added syrup, cinnamon & allspice & simmered till apples were soft, added ham back in, placed apples on top to warm up ham and then transferred to dish & poured sauce on top. Served with brown rice & 1/2 cornbread muffin heated with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States