Autumn Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Wow, this was really good! I used leftover cranberry sauce instead of the applesauce and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
An excellent recipe as written. The flavors of the apple sauce, sugar and soy meld really well as it cooks and no 1 flavor stands out too much. I consider the original recipe a fairly "safe" dish that almost everyone, kids included, would probably like. I also made this using the Cranberry Chutney I recipe from this site in place of the apple sauce and I loved that even more. That recipe has cranberries, apple chunks and lots of "pie spices". The spices and cranberries kicked up the flavor and complemented both the pork and the veggies. I found adding the brown sugar unnecessary. Of course I added way more onions and squash each time and the leftovers were super for lunch the next day. So good, in fact, that I didn't even need the pork to go along with it and just added some leftover boiled potato to make my meal. All the juices had cooked into the veg and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne_NL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Oh me, Oh my this is sssssooooo good. I did change a few things. I added 2 pealed apples to the squash mixture(only because I had tons of apples on hand) and I used fresh garlic, homemade apple sauce with cinnamon, so I didn't add any extra cinnamon. When I deglazed the pan with the wine, I added the onions, garlic, and extra two apples and let everything cook down some and carmelized the onions lightly. And just before I put it in the oven, I added a couple of small handfuls of dried crandberries for some tartness...........it turned out simply wonderful. We gave this recipe five stars. My husband loved it and I did as well. With autumn being my favorite season, I will make this dish often during my favorite time of the year. I served it with mashed patatoes, and German coleslaw from this site. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenbush Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenbush, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
One of my top 5 favorites! This was the first time I ever cooked with butternut squash. I added apples to the squash which really added a lot of great flavor. Next time I will add some dried cranberries too. Pork was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was great! I'd had a boneless shoulder roast in my freezer for a couple months because there are many times that I do not like pork as it gets SO dry and I was reluctant to make it! Anyways, I made it today and it was SO moist and delicious I couldn't believe it. The juices from the roast and applesauce and cooking out of the squash and onion really soaked into the meat and made it so moist and flavorful! I followed the recipe except that I put it in the oven before church and needed way longer than 1 hr., so I put it in at 250*F and vented the foil to prevent boil over- was gone about 4 hours. Pretty much fork-tender- amazingness. :) Served the veggies and broth over white rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_learned_to_cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Thumbs up on this one! I mixed the garlic powder and about tsp each s & p and rubbed into the loin before browning. Added water instead of wine. Put into 13x9 as I don't have oven safe pan and baked to temp. Still little pink in the middle which is fine with us. Great taste on the sauce. Squash was nicely flavored, still couldn't get hubby to eat that though. Not to sweet nor tart. Very nice flavor on the pork when drizzled with a little of the jus. I like apples with pork, may add some of those part way through next time. Thanks for the recipe SJRJA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
How delicious was this? Outstanding! I prepared exactly as written, but added some sliced granny smith apple and dried cranberries to the vegetable mix, and decreased the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Roasted for about 1 hr 10 minutes, and let the meat rest before carving. Tender, flavorful, sweet, it was perfect. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe, SJRJA, it's going to be a classic in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Excellent!! Made this exactly as written with the exception of using an extra cup or so of butternut squash. My roast was done perfectly in one hour – still moist and juicy. I loved the squash in this and I also like the idea of adding apples and dried cranberries. We’ll be repeating this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Wonderful pork roast! I did follow others' advice and added some cut up apple and dried cranberries half way through. Really good and looked wonderful on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
It was very good. maybe person preference, but I think you could cut down on the brown sugar. Pork was very moist. Butternut squash and applesauce give you a nice compliment and I would cut the sugar by 1/3 next go round - but great potential with just a little fine tuning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States