Autumn Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Smelled delicious while in the oven and tasted just as good as it smelled. Used cubed sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash because that's what I had on hand. I did add a little thyme but otherwise followed the recipe. My husband loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My husband and boys are not big fans of pork, but this recipe made them change their minds. The pork was tender and the sauce made for a great addition to the meat. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Five stars all the way! This made excellent use of many ingredients I needed to use up. I did not follow recipe exactly, although I'm sure it would taste great exactly as stated. I use 3 sweet potatoes instead of butternut squash, added a chopped up Braeburn apple, and threw everything into the crockpot. I used the last of my applesauce (exactly 1/2 C. whew!) and then added some water to that jar, the cinnamon, and shook to get the rest of the applesauce out. Added that watery applesauce mixture to the crockpot. Left out all the brown sugar, otherwise followed recipe per Diem. The roast was frozen. Cooked on high 1 hour then low for 5 hours. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I will say everything in one word: DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
very easy to make and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe. I was out of apple sauce so I just blended up an apple which I think probably made it better, the apple flavor was amazing. I also used carrots instead of butternut squash and they were really good. I did it in the crock pot and just added a little water with the carrots so that it wouldn't go dry while it cooked all day about 6 hours. My husband couldn't stop talking about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by us2suprheros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Ok - I did not follow it EXACTLY, but didn't change very much at all. Didn't have wine - used hard apple cider. Added two chopped apples Added a ton of fresh chopped garlic to the applesauce mixture Otherwise - everything else was dead on the original. It was FANTASTIC!!!! Absolutely a keeper, and elegant enough to serve for company. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent! I used maple syrup instead of brown sugar, and it added to the seasonal flavor! Also threw in some carrots since my husband doesn't like squash! Made for a wonderful fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy M
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was such a delicious fall recipe! Everyone greatly enjoyed. I followed recipe as written. But I did not have white wine, so I replaced with beef broth. It was moist and everything had a wonderful flavor. Next time, I will just add more butternut squash because everyone loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMATECHGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This was really good. As many reviewers suggested I didn't add any sugar. I was using yams instead of butternut squash and they're so sweet plus the applesauce was already sweet that I didn't see the need for any sugar. I also added a half pound of bacon but I won't do that again just because it was a waste, we couldn't taste it at all. I did it in my cast iron dutch oven and baked it at 300 for 1 1/2 hrs. It was tender and juicy! The yams and onion were also done to perfection. We love yams and I am always looking for savory dishes to use them in. They really don't need all the sugar and marshmallows that recipes want you to put on them all the time. Perfect with pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States