Autumn Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was great, I used a roast with a fair bit of marbling in it as that is my preference. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
WOW! This was a delicious combination of flavours and a very pretty, autumnal meal. I added an extra sliced apple and a handful of dried cranberries (even though I don't like them) and it was DIVINE--cranberries included!! As one reader posted, make extra as it is EVEN better the next day! This will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very nice and we will have this again, but QUITE sweet. I will use very little sugar next time-maybe none if my apples are sweet. Update 11/1/2011: I'm laughing because I planned to use this recipe as a base for my dinner tonight and hadn't realized I had already reviewed it :) Anyway... talk about an autumn meal... I have substituted a very ripe persimmon for the applesauce and chunks of pumpkin for the butternut squash! Used a little less sugar and chicken broth for the wine-It's all in the crock-pot on high right now... I'll let you know how it turns out!2ND UPDATE: Ok, still too sweet. I will remember to leave out all the sugar in this and maybe we will like it more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was very moist and I prepared it as written with homemade applesauce. I probably won't be making it again as it was too sweet for myself and my husband's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong but after 1 hr 10 min in the oven the middle of my pork was still raw and the squash was hard. It took an additional 45 min to cook. I also cooked it in a stoneware roasting pan so I let it cool and put in the fridge for dinner the next night. everyone made individual plates and reheated in the microwave. this dinner was so good. my kids ate it up and asked for seconds!I will be making again. Thanks for sharing. I bet it's even better the first night, but great leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
It was very good. maybe person preference, but I think you could cut down on the brown sugar. Pork was very moist. Butternut squash and applesauce give you a nice compliment and I would cut the sugar by 1/3 next go round - but great potential with just a little fine tuning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Wonderful pork roast! I did follow others' advice and added some cut up apple and dried cranberries half way through. Really good and looked wonderful on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Excellent!! Made this exactly as written with the exception of using an extra cup or so of butternut squash. My roast was done perfectly in one hour – still moist and juicy. I loved the squash in this and I also like the idea of adding apples and dried cranberries. We’ll be repeating this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
How delicious was this? Outstanding! I prepared exactly as written, but added some sliced granny smith apple and dried cranberries to the vegetable mix, and decreased the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. Roasted for about 1 hr 10 minutes, and let the meat rest before carving. Tender, flavorful, sweet, it was perfect. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe, SJRJA, it's going to be a classic in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Thumbs up on this one! I mixed the garlic powder and about tsp each s & p and rubbed into the loin before browning. Added water instead of wine. Put into 13x9 as I don't have oven safe pan and baked to temp. Still little pink in the middle which is fine with us. Great taste on the sauce. Squash was nicely flavored, still couldn't get hubby to eat that though. Not to sweet nor tart. Very nice flavor on the pork when drizzled with a little of the jus. I like apples with pork, may add some of those part way through next time. Thanks for the recipe SJRJA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States