Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
When I found this recipe, I was looking for something with apples and spices. This is perfect! The only change that I have made is to substitute applesauce for the butter. It makes them a little bit moister and a lot less fat and calories. I always get such compliments on these. Thanks! Leslie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Gosh - I WISH I had some hazelnuts, cranberries, or figs! BUT I did have the apple (plenty from our apple tree) - so I used a little more of that. Also, I used chopped walnuts (lightly toasted in the oven first - did that while I was preheating and mixing the batter). These muffins were great despite their missing counterparts & substitutions! Nice & fully w/ a great taste! This is a quality muffin recipe - I'll be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
These muffins were so good, nicely spiced and so easy. I actually used a bag of dried fruit in place of the fruit on this recipe and they came out delicious. Moist and fruity. I will make these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This is a very tasty muffin recipe! I love the textures and flavors of the all the fruits and nuts. We had a surplus of hazelnuts and this recipe is a perfect way to use them up. They are best when fresh, though. I baked some of the batter up as a loaf, but it does not hold the shape very well and crumbles. I also tried to freeze the baked muffins, and this recipe does not freeze very well. Oh well, I guess there are worse things than having to eat these freshly baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
At first I was a little hesitant about all the different things that go into these (the figs especially), but my husband and I loved them! They were very tasty, moist and fragrant. They definitely capture what I'd think autumn may taste like, if it were a food itself. Will definitely make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I was in a rush to find a recipe for muffins to surprise my fiance with breakfast and chose this one based on the rave reviews. The only fruit I had on hand were frozen peaches (so I omitted the apples, cranberries, figs, and hazelnuts). I also substituted cloves for ginger and margarine for butter, then put a vanilla/cinnamon sugar mix on top. However, everyone who tasted these muffins said they were the best thing I have ever made by far...they are very critical and said they wouldn't change a thing! The bottom line: this is a great base recipe which tastes great despite substitutions...everyone appreciated the complex well-blended flavors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
These are GREAT! There can be substitutes and the taste is still high quality (I used raisins not figs and macadamia nuts not hazelnuts). I passed a few muffins to some LUCKY teachers at my daughters school and they all want the recipe! I will be making these muffins for YEARS to come. YUM, YUM and DOUBLE YUM as my daughters say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowereyesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Oh my these are good! I used dates instead of figs and put some tiny fruit berries in from my fruit tree, and an apple. A very good muffin, my kids really did enjoy them too! I will definitely make again...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Great recipe, I did not put in figs (dried cranberries instead) and no hazelnuts (chopped walnuts instead). Great spice cake like muffin. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This will satify the craving for autumn aroma and taste of spices and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States