Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Too boring with all that flour. Perhaps add some wheat germ or cornmeal for a more interesting taste. Also, it would be better to grate the apples so that they help keep the muffins moist all over, rather than just have chunks in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Really, really tasty muffins! I followed the recipe as written except substituted applesauce for the butter. I really enjoyed the sweet tart flavor on Thanksgiving morning. Got good reviews from kids, hubby, and my mother too. I got 24 muffins out of a single recipe, so it made plenty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe for my specific needs. Instead of 3 cups all purpose flour, I used 2 c. whole wheat flour and 1 c. all purpose flour; I substituted honey for the white sugar and melted Smart Balance spread for the butter; I used fat free milk, as well, and left the apple unpeeled. Both my husband and I thought they were wonderful and I'll definitely make them again as they're fiber rich and full of flavor! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawleys Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
muffin tasted very good. i used walnuts instead of hazelnuts because i didn't have any at home. i wish i had read the reviews before i made them because i would've substituted the butter for applesauce (i thought the butter content was quite high). i also used dried sweetened cranberries instead of fresh. i omitted the figs simply because i didn't have those either. not sure if i'll make them again, husband and kids weren't raving. also, i find 300 cal for one muffin a bit high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This is definitely my most favorite recipe for muffins!My whole family loves their fruity taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I loved this recipe! I typically don't like nuts in my food but I went ahead and added pecans (didn't have hazelnuts) - very delicious! I also used a sugar substitute and I didn't pack my brown sugar. Next time I want to try them with applesauce in place of the butter to lower the fat. Thanks Jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I left out the nuts, (preference) they were awesome. Shared them with my friends and they agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
These were... different. I made the recipe exacly as stated except I used chopped walnuts instead of hazelnuts. I expected warm, comforting, spicy muffins. They seem more like healthy fruit/bran breakfast muffins to me. The first day I couldn't even taste the cinnamon, but I do think they're better the second day. I will make these again though, but a day ahead and reheat them, but as a breakfast food or healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
These were a HUGE hit! They were delicious straight from the oven, and kept well. I used apples, craisins, dates and walnuts. A winning combination with the spices in the muffin. My husband thought these were a four star, but with a crumb topping would be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I liked these muffins but no one in my family did, so they were sent to work where they were given good reviews by everyone who tried them. I especially liked the sweetness of the apple and the crunch of hazelnut. Maybe I'll try walnuts or pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States