Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I was very skeptical about the ingredients in these muffins. However, these were really great and pretty healthy too. Used a sugar sub for the white sugar, and used half whole wheat flour. Didn't have hazelnuts, used walnuts instead. All the changes were still great. I'll make thsese any time I have harvest fruits to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
These are very good. I used a little more than 1 tsp. of apple pie spice instead of all the listed spices, used applesauce instead of butter. I scaled the recipe to half with no problems. I used 1'2 raisins & half cherry flavored crasins for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
comes out great everytime!! I used 1/2 of the butter and substitued a snack size apple sauce! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
Tender, moist and melt in your mouth good!! My entire family (3 kids and 2 grownups) enjoyed this delicious recipe. I did make a few substitutions. I used dried cherries, raisins, apples and almonds. As opposed to cranberries, figs and hazelnuts. I don't think you CAN mess this one up! Thanks Jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This is GREAT! I made a few subsititues using low fat butter, vanilla soy milk, and dates instead of figs ...EVERYONE loved them. The second time I was out of apples and used can peaches (drained) and that batch was just as good. Thanks for the GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Not what I expected after reading the other reviews. I substituted dates for the figs, used dried cranberries and put the nuts on top after cooking them in butter and adding a little brown sugar and flour. Neither my husband nor I liked them that much. Didn't care for the flavour combinations. I wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
Gosh - I WISH I had some hazelnuts, cranberries, or figs! BUT I did have the apple (plenty from our apple tree) - so I used a little more of that. Also, I used chopped walnuts (lightly toasted in the oven first - did that while I was preheating and mixing the batter). These muffins were great despite their missing counterparts & substitutions! Nice & fully w/ a great taste! This is a quality muffin recipe - I'll be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is the best base recipe for any type of muffins you want to make. You can be guarenteed that the recipe will come out delicious. Terrific for breakfast, especially when you are on the run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I was in a rush to find a recipe for muffins to surprise my fiance with breakfast and chose this one based on the rave reviews. The only fruit I had on hand were frozen peaches (so I omitted the apples, cranberries, figs, and hazelnuts). I also substituted cloves for ginger and margarine for butter, then put a vanilla/cinnamon sugar mix on top. However, everyone who tasted these muffins said they were the best thing I have ever made by far...they are very critical and said they wouldn't change a thing! The bottom line: this is a great base recipe which tastes great despite substitutions...everyone appreciated the complex well-blended flavors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
These muffins really *are* wonderful! I was impressed that *every single* review of them raved about them and I have to agree. I replaced the butter with applesauce, used raisins instead of figs, used nonfat milk, and replaced the hazelnuts with chopped peanuts (didn't have any hazlenuts!) and they were fantastic. I'm sure they'd be even better with the hazlenuts, but I think most any type of chopped nut would work, as well as a lot of variations on the fruits. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States