Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I left out the nuts, (preference) they were awesome. Shared them with my friends and they agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
These were... different. I made the recipe exacly as stated except I used chopped walnuts instead of hazelnuts. I expected warm, comforting, spicy muffins. They seem more like healthy fruit/bran breakfast muffins to me. The first day I couldn't even taste the cinnamon, but I do think they're better the second day. I will make these again though, but a day ahead and reheat them, but as a breakfast food or healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
These were a HUGE hit! They were delicious straight from the oven, and kept well. I used apples, craisins, dates and walnuts. A winning combination with the spices in the muffin. My husband thought these were a four star, but with a crumb topping would be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I liked these muffins but no one in my family did, so they were sent to work where they were given good reviews by everyone who tried them. I especially liked the sweetness of the apple and the crunch of hazelnut. Maybe I'll try walnuts or pecans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I have reviewed this recipe previously (see below), but would like to add more comments. First, substituting 1/2 of the flour with whole wheat flour still tastes great. Second, I am more satisfied with doubling the spice amounts (cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger). Maybe not the best thing if you consider yourself a supertaster or like spices to be subtle and not obvious. Third, I used walnuts previously, but hazelnuts ARE better in this recipe. Spread out the chopped nuts on a cookie sheet and toast in the oven at 350 deg for 10 min. These muffins have never failed to impress people! Here is my old review: A phenomenal muffin! A hit all around the board. Not having chopped hazelnuts, I substituted walnuts. Also I used dried cranberries (Craisins) instead of fresh. I may decide to try a sour cream or orange juice modification on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
As wonderful as they're said to be! My girls (5 & 9) love them and my husband took a bunch to work, which his coworkers loved! I used a fruit based fat substitute--there's one by Sunsweet and one by Polaners in place of the butter,and skim milk. This really cut the fat and the muffins are moist and delicious. I also omitted the nuts and figs and used dried cranberries--no chopping required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBRARYLADY61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Very good! I forgot to chop the cranberries, although they were still good it would have been better if I had chopped them up as directed. I highly recomend using paper muffin liners so they aren't a mess to remove from the muffins tins. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I was very skeptical about the ingredients in these muffins. However, these were really great and pretty healthy too. Used a sugar sub for the white sugar, and used half whole wheat flour. Didn't have hazelnuts, used walnuts instead. All the changes were still great. I'll make thsese any time I have harvest fruits to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
These are very good. I used a little more than 1 tsp. of apple pie spice instead of all the listed spices, used applesauce instead of butter. I scaled the recipe to half with no problems. I used 1'2 raisins & half cherry flavored crasins for the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
comes out great everytime!! I used 1/2 of the butter and substitued a snack size apple sauce! Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States