Autumn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
These are the changes I made to the recipe: I used two cups fresh figs chopped fine in food processor, 1 cup dark brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 2 teaspoons cinnamon, 1 ginger/honey crystals .63 oz.and I left out the milk. This recipe made 1 small loaf and a dozen muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Coworker gave me my first fresh figs, found this recipe... OMGosh.. GREAT isn't a strong enough word for these! Didn't have hazelnuts, so 1st time no nuts, other times used chopped walnuts. Used cran-raisins one time, have used canned figs, have added regular raisins add cranberries. You just can't go wrong... the spices with figs, apple and cranberries make a moist dense muffin. So good I baked a batch and packed to take from GA to Indiana to eat w/mom and sisters. Traveled great. Always makes more than 18 - usually 24 big muffins. Don't know if they freeze well.... never had any left to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
these were so moist. I had no ground ginger and I don't think it made a difference. I got 24 large muffins from this recipe. I saved it as a favorite and it will be my go-to muffin base for all future muffins. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
My kids ate these for breakfast and snack, two days straight! I didn't have any figs (nor could I find any at my commissary), so I used chopped dates instead. They were definitely a hit with my clan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Morey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Really good with agave nectar instead of brown sugar, grated ginger, frozen blueberries instead of cranberries and roasted walnuts. I made them in big muffins molds so it took longer to bake. The dried figs in the muffins are a very good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great recipe! I was a little worried when I read amount of baking powder, but I'm glad I followed the recipe so closely. It is well-thought out and the flavors are so wonderful. It would work with all sorts of fruits and nuts. I only omitted the cranberries because I didn't have any, and subbed walnuts in for the filberts (again, because that's what I had). The only problem I had with the recipe was the figs. While they are delicious and went well with the other flavors, the seeds make the muffins kind of gritty. I couldn't figure out what it was for a while, but no one else seems to mind - the entire batch was gone by the end of our ladies' meeting this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodfin Moll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Huge hit!! I love the spice in these. I used fresh figs and ginger, grated the apple and used cherries and blueberries in place of cranberries. These were a hit with the kids and the neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I was looking for something to do with some figs I had from another recipe and these muffins were super easy and delicious! I used 2 cups whole wheat flour + 1 cup white flour, soy milk, dried cherries & raisins (instead of cranberries) and omitted the nuts. Using an ice cream scoop, it made 23 muffins. Will make again & share. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
great muffins. I put fresh peaches in instead of dried fruit and nuts(my daughter hates nuts) perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great muffins! I also subbed apple sauce for butter and used dried dates and dried cranberries. I didn't realize I had forgot to add cranberries until I had filled all but the last one. Sprinkled a few on top to correct mistake and they look even better than the one with cranberries mixed in. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Quinoa Muffins

A great breakfast or lunch recipe for leftover quinoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States