Autumn Glazed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This meal was alright. It was not fantastic by any means. The glaze was almost overpowering for this cut of meat. Made exactly as the recipe described, the glaze is almost all you can taste. Wasn't horrible, but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Sellner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Good recipe. Cooked pork chops in light olive oil to keep from sticking to pan with salt and pepper. The cranberry sauce prepared differently. Combined 1 cup orange juice, 1 cup of cranberry juice 1/2 tsp nutmeg, -1/2 tsp ginger and two tbsp honey and mix well. In a frying pan add 1 cup of dried cranberries over medium heat, pour 1/2 of the orange and cranberry mixture over dried cranberries and cook down then pour remaining mixture over cranberries until it turn from liquidity to a sauce. Serve over pork chops or on the side. Went great with hot edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
alright, but nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Sauce was wonderful! I doubled it like others suggested. Will make again. Used eight 1/2 inch thick bone-in pork chops seasoned with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder. Browned 2 mins on each side, covered with sauce and simmered covered till done. Plain orange juice works fine in place of the orange juice concentrate, as well as a substitute for the apple juice if you don't have any. A little pinch of cayenne pepper works fine too if you don't have ground ginger. Gives it the same "warmth" that ground ginger would anyway. I also added a big tbsp of dijon mustard like another reviewer. Seemed like a perfect match with pork. I removed the chops and thickened the sauce at the end with a couple tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in another 1/4 cup of cold orange juice. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Decent pork chop recipe. Like most others, I used orange juice (Simply Orange) instead of concentrate. I also took another reader's suggestion and added 2 tsp dijon mustard. My issue is I make my own cranberry sauce and find canned somewhat tasteless. Being it's a week before Thanksgiving, I had 2 bags of fresh cranberries in the 'fridge. Took out a large handful, covered with orange juice and put on medium heat until they popped. Mashed into a puree and added a little honey. When added to the already made sauce, it really brings out a depth of flavor and cuts the sweetness. Recipe is good as written but if you happen to have fresh cranberries, it's worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I couldn,t stop eating it! I used really thick bone in chops and simmered about 15 minutes in the apple cider. I did sprinkle with salt, pepper, and onion powder before browning. My 3 yr old cleaned her plate as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made this for my family, and we all loved it! I changed the recipe a bit, adding some brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon, because we like sweet things. We also used bone-in pork chops, rather than boneless. It was the perfect amount of sauce, but I could easily double it for extra, which my mom asked me for. I served it with a side of mixed buttered squash and a carrot sweet potato casserole. All of the flavours blended wonderfully, and it really welcomed my favourite season. Everyone gave it a 5-star review, and I added a photo of it as well. Thank you SO much for this amazing recipe! It's a new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These chops were delicious! I had to make a couple of sustitutions only ecause I didn't have the ingredients but still a keeper. Husband and daughter both asked for more. I didn't have craberry sauce, but I did have diet cranberry juice and craisins so I had to kind of make my own cranberry sauce and Ididn't have the orange juice o I just poured a little of the apple cider cooking juice back into the cranberry mixture. I served the chops with mac n cheese and green beans. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I'm not a big fan of meat/fruit combos, but I quite enjoyed this. Like others, I used orange juice instead of concentrate. Chops came out tender and succulent. Nice change from the usual boring baked pork chops with mushrooms gravy. Two year old daughter loved it too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I am not a pork chop fan, so I wanted to try something different and came across this recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand except the frozen orange juice concentrate. So I substituted pineapple juice, which was ok, but I think using the orange juice concentrate would have been better. My family all loved this, including myself. The chops were not dry either. It was even better the next day. I did double the apple and pineapple juice, because I like extra sauce. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States