Autumn Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this last night for my wife and I and it was delicious! She LOVED it. I read the reviews and made some successful adjustments based on some of the issues people had: 1) Too tart, 2) "plastic" taste/smell, and 3) pink/red color inside chicken. 1) & 2) Added some frozen blackberries and raspberries. This added additional sweetness as well as a more fragrant, fruity smell. Sometimes unsweetened cranberries can give off a smell that is similar to a "plastic" or "chemically" smell. Before I added the additional berries, I could smell what some people were referring to. After though, it smelled great. 3) Make sure to brown the chicken in the oil like the recipe says. This will "seal" the outside of the chicken. I had no red/pink color on the inside. I hope this helps. Thanks and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
So very wonderful!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
We did not care for this at all. The berries turned the chicken a very unappetizing purple, and the flavors were almost like plastic. Blech!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Not good at all. The purple chicken was very unappetizing, and it needed seasoning before cooking. Very bland tasting chicken, very tart sauce. I don't think adding more sugar will solve the problems with this dish. I'm glad I served this to family before making for guests. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Great meal idea, surprisingly easy to make and very tasty, somethinf for the whole family to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
This was so good I can not even explain it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I'm giving this two stars because even though I did not like it, my husband did. I thought it was much too sour even though I added some more sugar as someone suggested. I couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
YUM! I took a tip from a previous reviewer and used rasperries because I didn't have cranberries. I think the raspberry sort of overwhelmed the blueberry flavor, but they still looked so pretty in the sauce. This was a beautiful little meal that was enjoyed and will be made again in my house. Thanks for the unique idea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I used red raspberries instead of cranberries... it was still good. Will try it again without changing it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Very easy to make and delicious. Lemon keeps it from being too sweet. We substituted canned cranberry sauce for fresh cranberries, which worked very well, and also made a good side accent. I will definitely be cooking this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States