Autumn Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I think I've rated this recipe before but it deserves another thumb's up. I was skeptical of apple + cheesecake but I'm sure glad I gave it a shot. I always follow a recipe closely for the first time and then do my own thing after that and it was great the first time. Now, I use an extra brick of cream cheese, extra egg, 1/4 cup extra of sugar to make a larger cake. I slice my apples thin, chop them up and sprinkle onto the top rather than arrange the slices because I wanted them to cook and not just dry out. Brown sugar instead of white mixed in with the apples. Instead of a graham crust I just pat down a layer of ground almonds and pour the batter directly on top. This makes it gluten-free. When fall rolls around, this is the cheesecake that I turn to. Very seasonal and would be great for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
LIke many other reviewers I increased the amount of cheesecake, I only did an extra half. Next time I think I will double it. I used a 10" springform pan. The other change was I separated the eggs. Mixed in each yolk separately. Whipped the egg whites and folded into the batter. This made the cheesecake very light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Omg, this is an amazing cheesecake recipe. Its not complicated like other cheesecake recipe, and it tastes wonderful. I am making it again today.I pretty much doubled the recipe, and I will be making it using almond extract today to mix it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I've been making this for years since I found it on Allrecipes. Awesome cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
One of the best cheesecakes I have made! I minced my apples and made a crumb topping with butter, flour and brown sugar. I poured half of the cheesecake batter into the pan and then swirled in some homemade apple butter! Absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
this was my first cheesecake attempt. i made it for the first thanksgiving we hosted for my family as an alternative to our traditional pie spread, and it turned out fabulous. the apples didn't cut cleanly, me not having microwaved them first, but the appearance of the cake was quite striking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is the absolutely the best cheesecake!!!!! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone said that I better make it for Christmas, and I did. I have made other cheesecakes and this one is the best. I was told that I have to make it every year. We have a big crowd and there was only one small sliver left and I ate that the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I entered this cheesecake in a contest at work & WON 1st place!! This cheesecake was AMAZING, the best I EVER had. I did put my own twist on it, by making it Gluten Free, soaking the apples in lemon water (so they wouldn't turn brown so fast) & added 8oz of Mascrapone Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leighanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Wow, this was my first cheesecake and came out amazing! I followed some helpful reviews: A) Doubled the cheesecake ingredients. B) Microwaved the apples for a few minutes before topping and discarded the juice. C) Sat my springform pan (double-wrapped in foil) in a water bath. D) Baked 70 minutes and let it cool in the oven for 3 hours (didn't even open the oven to peek). E) Topped w/ a streusel topping. F) Removed the bottom of my springform pan w/ a knife that had been run under hot water. Next time, I will put the pan of water on the rack below, rather than putting the spring-form pan into it, because the moisture from the steam became trapped inside the foil and the bottom was just a tad soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I made this for Christmas day dinner and my guests raved about it but I thought it was just ok :( I didn't' like the texture of the cheesecake - it's heavy and thick. I prefer a more fluffy cheesecake. Also, the apple mixture turned out quite dry but that's my own fault for following reviewer suggestions and precooking the apples and removing some of the juice. If I were to make it again, I'd leave the apples uncooked as the recipe states. I did however multiply the recipe by 1.5 in order to better fill my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semichee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States