Autumn Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Very yummy. First time I made this, I also found it needed more juice. Next time, I doubled the amount of butter, flour, water and it was so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Not real impressed. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
There was not enough broth and I had to add 2 cans of beef broth. Also was more like a soup then a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pigpinsgurl313

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This turned out great! Tasted just like my mom's that I grew up with! I did add more liquid. An extra 1/2c water and about 1/2c milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nick
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Fantastic! I started with this as a base with two substituions: Rather than using celery seed, I used 4 stalks of celery cut into 1 to 1 1/2 inch lengths. Rather than using one large union I used 3/4 lb of pearl onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This smelled so good we couldn't wait 8 hours! I added 1 can of diced tomato and used 1 1/2 c. beef boullion and 1/2 c. water. Was very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I also had to add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe! We just loved this stew. It just needs quite a bit more liquid than the recipe calls for. I added about 3 additional cups of water with salt and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Great recipe but I too added 1 cup water mixed with 2 packets of instant Bovril Beef bouillon to give some flavour. Also I substituted lean hamburger for the beef... no fatty pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I cut the recipe in half (there's only 2 of us!), and added a can of beef broth - without it, I don't think it would have been very stew-like at all, as others have said. I also sprinkled a little garlic powder on the beef before I browned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States