Autumn Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This turned out great! Tasted just like my mom's that I grew up with! I did add more liquid. An extra 1/2c water and about 1/2c milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Not very stew-like but delicious just the same. I added a can of peas during the last hour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was delicious! My husband and I loved it. I have to agree, not very "stew like".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Really great flavor! I must also agree with the other reviewers: Not enough juice. I would add beef broth and a thickener next time. Also, I just cut up a roast I had on hand instead of stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent but I agree with all other reviews that it is not stew-like. More like a pot-roast. Very good though. The flavor is awesome. I made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Fabulous Recipe. My husband usually hates stew, but he asks for this one all the time. Thanks for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is very good! Its not stew like but very good. I added a can of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for beef stew and takes little time for preparation. Once it's in the slow cooker, your work is done. My husband and I made a few changes to the recipe to allow for what we had on hand and also to allow for our own personal tastes. Since we had no red potatoes on hand, we just used Russett potatoes. To suit our tastes, we added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil and a small can of tomato sauce. My husband says, "This one's a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Commodore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I made this for supper last night and dad loved it! I too, had to add extra liquid while it was cooking. I added extra water and a little bit of milk, to make it more creamy. It was supper easy and fun to make!!! Thanxz for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
added 2 cans beef broth& 4 tblespoons flour to dripping of browned stew meat( i used a chuck roast and cut up myself). I also added 1 can diced tomatoe. Oh I seasoned meat while browning with garlic salt and pepper. I didn't get it in the crock pot in time so I baked it in oven for 1 1/2-2 hours in a covered dish at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States