Autumn Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Great flavor, but you will need to add some sort of broth - water, etc. to keep the stew from drying out if you plan to leave in the crock pot as long as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Really great flavor! I must also agree with the other reviewers: Not enough juice. I would add beef broth and a thickener next time. Also, I just cut up a roast I had on hand instead of stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I made this for supper last night and dad loved it! I too, had to add extra liquid while it was cooking. I added extra water and a little bit of milk, to make it more creamy. It was supper easy and fun to make!!! Thanxz for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was just ok...it needs some more zing. I agree that it really needs more "juice" and is not at all stew like. Next time I will probably add some beef broth and some additional spices to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I really should have read all the reviews before I made this one. I didn't add any liquid and it was very dry. It was good, but not much different from the pot roast I always make and more work. My husband really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Very Tasty!!! My husband and I loved the flavor, especially the beef. I agree with the other reviewer that it wasn't very "stew like". My husband and I like a little more "juice", will probably add some beef broth next time. Great recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe! We just loved this stew. It just needs quite a bit more liquid than the recipe calls for. I added about 3 additional cups of water with salt and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for beef stew and takes little time for preparation. Once it's in the slow cooker, your work is done. My husband and I made a few changes to the recipe to allow for what we had on hand and also to allow for our own personal tastes. Since we had no red potatoes on hand, we just used Russett potatoes. To suit our tastes, we added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil and a small can of tomato sauce. My husband says, "This one's a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Commodore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Mine ended up too cooked ... meat was dry, potatoes and carrots were mushy and there should have been more broth of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe dissappointed me in that the beef base wasn't enough to give it that stew quality. The ingredients not in the liquid was good over rice.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Earth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States