Autumn Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Not very stew-like but delicious just the same. I added a can of peas during the last hour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Very Tasty!!! My husband and I loved the flavor, especially the beef. I agree with the other reviewer that it wasn't very "stew like". My husband and I like a little more "juice", will probably add some beef broth next time. Great recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was delicious! My husband and I loved it. I have to agree, not very "stew like".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Really great flavor! I must also agree with the other reviewers: Not enough juice. I would add beef broth and a thickener next time. Also, I just cut up a roast I had on hand instead of stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent but I agree with all other reviews that it is not stew-like. More like a pot-roast. Very good though. The flavor is awesome. I made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I don't think I'm going to brown the meat beforehand next time, it seems like an unecessary step. Because of other reviews I added about 4 tablespoons of flour and I still wouldn't call it stew and I did add 2 bullion cubes to give it a beefier flavor but my husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was just ok...it needs some more zing. I agree that it really needs more "juice" and is not at all stew like. Next time I will probably add some beef broth and some additional spices to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I really should have read all the reviews before I made this one. I didn't add any liquid and it was very dry. It was good, but not much different from the pot roast I always make and more work. My husband really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I found this recipe very disappointing. I follow the directions and there was not enough juice, I added 4 cups of broth and more spices after 2 hours of cooking. After 8 hours the meat was still tough and the carrots were hard. I would suggest turning the crock pot on high after 4 hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Fabulous Recipe. My husband usually hates stew, but he asks for this one all the time. Thanks for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States