Autumn Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Not very stew-like but delicious just the same. I added a can of peas during the last hour. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Very Tasty!!! My husband and I loved the flavor, especially the beef. I agree with the other reviewer that it wasn't very "stew like". My husband and I like a little more "juice", will probably add some beef broth next time. Great recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was delicious! My husband and I loved it. I have to agree, not very "stew like".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Patchogue, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Really great flavor! I must also agree with the other reviewers: Not enough juice. I would add beef broth and a thickener next time. Also, I just cut up a roast I had on hand instead of stew meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Excellent but I agree with all other reviews that it is not stew-like. More like a pot-roast. Very good though. The flavor is awesome. I made it for a family gathering and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I don't think I'm going to brown the meat beforehand next time, it seems like an unecessary step. Because of other reviews I added about 4 tablespoons of flour and I still wouldn't call it stew and I did add 2 bullion cubes to give it a beefier flavor but my husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was just ok...it needs some more zing. I agree that it really needs more "juice" and is not at all stew like. Next time I will probably add some beef broth and some additional spices to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I really should have read all the reviews before I made this one. I didn't add any liquid and it was very dry. It was good, but not much different from the pot roast I always make and more work. My husband really liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I found this recipe very disappointing. I follow the directions and there was not enough juice, I added 4 cups of broth and more spices after 2 hours of cooking. After 8 hours the meat was still tough and the carrots were hard. I would suggest turning the crock pot on high after 4 hours of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Fabulous Recipe. My husband usually hates stew, but he asks for this one all the time. Thanks for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States