Autumn Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Mine ended up too cooked ... meat was dry, potatoes and carrots were mushy and there should have been more broth of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was really good! I took the reviewers advice and added a can of beef broth and about 1/2 cup milk before pouring it in the crock pot. I also added a couple tablespoons of extra flour to help it thicken. It had a nice, think consistancy when I added it to the crock pot, but it thinned out as it cooked. It still wasn't overly soupy though. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmhmmmgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe dissappointed me in that the beef base wasn't enough to give it that stew quality. The ingredients not in the liquid was good over rice.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Earth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Good recipe. Like everyone else I added some beef broth. Came out good. Definitly make again and would reccomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew A. Craig

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dundee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This turned out good. First I misread the amount of butter and added the beef to 3/4 c of butter instead of a 1/3 so I adjusted all of the other ingredients there still didn't seem to be enough liquid so I added a cup of beef broth as well. Then I added a can of corn and lima beans during the last half hour because I wasn't planning on making any veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrbobajango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
It was good and easy - nice crock pot recipe. I did add more beef broth to add liquid - and corn bread is an excellent side. My family enjoyed this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
added 2 cans beef broth& 4 tblespoons flour to dripping of browned stew meat( i used a chuck roast and cut up myself). I also added 1 can diced tomatoe. Oh I seasoned meat while browning with garlic salt and pepper. I didn't get it in the crock pot in time so I baked it in oven for 1 1/2-2 hours in a covered dish at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I made this for supper last night and dad loved it! I too, had to add extra liquid while it was cooking. I added extra water and a little bit of milk, to make it more creamy. It was supper easy and fun to make!!! Thanxz for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is an excellent recipe for beef stew and takes little time for preparation. Once it's in the slow cooker, your work is done. My husband and I made a few changes to the recipe to allow for what we had on hand and also to allow for our own personal tastes. Since we had no red potatoes on hand, we just used Russett potatoes. To suit our tastes, we added a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil and a small can of tomato sauce. My husband says, "This one's a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dixonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Commodore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I made this in a 2 quart slow cooker. I changed the amount of servings to 2. I cooked it on low for 4 1/2 to 5 hrs. It turned out just perfect and the amount was just right. No over eating and no leftovers. I'll be makeing this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States