Autumn Apple-Squash Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I made this last year and thought I had lost the recipe. So glad I found it again! Love the flavors, although very labor intensive it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I did not care for this. I wanted to like this recipe but it is very labor intensive. My apples were not cooked, the squash mix was like mush with raw apples and carrots in it and the crust was dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is an excellent dish. If you like all these spices together with apples & carrots, you will love it. The topping is also outstanding. I can't wait to eat some more of it tomorrow. Maybe I'll have it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I really wanted to like this, but it didn't turn out as awesome as I expected. Made exactly as is, except in half. In part, the bottom wasn't as sweet as I might have liked, and the topping was pretty dry. If I knew how to tweak it I would! Thanks for offering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I was the submitter for this recipe under a different(lost) account. We still love it. Sometimes I grate the apples instead of cube them, and I have used dried cranberries instead of raisins. I get lots of requests for this unique way to use squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This is a good recipe. My husband and I would suggest cutting down on the spices. But if you like your pumpkin pie with a lot of spice, then this is fine for you. We didn't have the ingredients for the topping, so we made one out of oats, flour, brown sugar, and butter. Still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Very different and original, great fall desert. I baked the squash at 400 for an hour and 15 min, which is MUCH easier than trying to peel it raw then steam it. Just scoop out the filling directly into your food processor (but only use about 3 1/2 cups since it's not cubed and raw). The nutmeg was a bit overpowering, so I'd reduce it to 1 tsp. Tastes a bit like sweet potato pie...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
amazing! my husband doesn't like squash and he liked this. the tartness of the apples contrasted wonderfully with the smooth spiciness of the squash. i omitted the wheat bran.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States