Autumn Apple Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Very, very tart. Good mix of flavors however, with the cranberries etc. Next time I will either do half/half sweeter apples with the tart, or add vanilla pudding to take away a little bit of the pucker. I thought the review of lemon juice and honey may be worth a try as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe was OK, especially considering how quick it was to throw together. It was somewhat bland. It tasted good but had no zing. I might try a couple of different combos to make it tastier, like lemon or flavored yogurt..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
SUPER EASY! And tasty.I have upped the amount for a couple different potlucks. Always a HUGE hit. Especially for the college meal that my church did. Great for those last minute potluck. The last time I made it (doubled), the apples were crazy expensive so I did 4 apples and 4 pears. Also did one container of vanilla and one container of caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Great recipe and very easy to make. I added fresh strawberries which tastes great! I would recommend only using three apples or add more yogurt if using more than three apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I LOVE this salad!!! I've made it a half dozen times to take to family gatherings and parties and it's always a big hit. I like to keep all the ingredients on hand to make single servings just for me. I recommend chilling the apples and preparing it just before serving, once made it's only good for about 24 hours. Also I like it better without the dried cherries. Just double the dried cranberries and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good salad. I used two Granny Smith apples and two Gala apples, and I tossed them with some lemon juice before adding the other ingredients. I used pecans in addition to the almonds, and did not have cherries so only used dried cranberries. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was very good. The vanilla yogurt really helped to tame the tartness of the granny smith apples I used. Loved the cranberries and cherries, too - but the delicious toasted almonds is what made the dish something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
So easy to make with ingredients usually on hand. I've made this 2x this year & people always go back for seconds & thirds. I usually use 1/2 tart & 1/2 sweet apples and have yet to make it w/ the cherries so don't worry if you don't have them it's still just as good. I've never used any preserver and my apples aren't brown 2 or 3 days later. I think the yogurt helps preserve them. Also, I like it better when it's made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I followed the recipe and I was pleasantly surprised! I used 1 honey crisp and 2 macontash and it was just perfect. I only used 3 apples because they were pretty large in size. The almonds really add to the flavor! I will make this again. I didn't find that it lacked in flavor, however I've set a side a small portion and used strawberry yogurt (it makes it look more dessert like), other than that I preferred the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States