Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Yummy. Even my husband liked this one, and he doesn't normally like curries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was delicious!! I did not use the curry leaves and used parsley instead of cilantro. Served it over Jasmati rice and would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this recipe was great! i love making it for company cause it's soo easy and everyone loves it. my husbands from india and says its one of the best shrimp currys he s had. its on permanent rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Ghose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dobbs Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
SOOO good. EASY! Substituted powder curry for the leaves. Loved this! Smells and tastes wonderful with all of the spices! WOW! A little kick, but not horribly spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This tasted amazing and was so easy! I had to make some adjustments based on the ingredients I had available in the kitchen. Instead of fresh shrimp, I used a 1 lb. bag of small frozen salad shrimp and it worked perfectly. I added less water because I put the shrimp in the pan still frozen. I replaced the garlic/ginger paste with fresh minced garlic and ginger and the tomato with a can of diced tomatoes. I didn't measure the spices out, and probably ended up using more than the recipe called for. This is a wonderful recipe that I highly recommend trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Really, really great! Didn't have curry leaves so I added 1 tsp of curry powder. Didn't have garlic ginger paste, so I added 1Tbsp crushed garlic with 1/2 tsp ginger powder mixed into it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAPOLIMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This tastes awesome! I omitted curry leaves since I didn't have any on hand. I also used frozen, cooked shrimp (after thawing and removing tails), and reduced cooking time after adding shrimp. I served this with the Indian style basmati rice recipe. This definitely tastes authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was very easy to make, and sooooo great. The flavor wasn't too spicy for the little ones and was still great for the adults. I love spicy food, but not everything has to be HOT, this is a great recipe...we are making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by highvoltagegrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
We love this recipe so easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
MY SO and I enjoyed this recipe ALOT!!. I could not find ginger garlic paste, so I did as other reviewer's: added 1 tbspn of crushed garlic and 1/2 tspn of ginger. I also did not use garam masala in my recipe. I too used a can of crushed tomatoes and frozen raw shrimp. The plate was a big hit, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States