Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Thank you to the individuals who suggested using fresh ginger and garlic instead of garlic ginger powder. This recipe is very easy. I would only add that if you purchase your ingredients at an East Indian supermarket, you will find the recipe very inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is the first time I attempted to cook Indian on my own. My mother liked it but called it "basic Indian flavours." That means I need to branch out and find less common curry recipes. Great for first time though! Will make again someday :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
added zucchini as a filler. tasted good and it was quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Absolutely Amazing! Served it to my family and they gave it an A+. Next time I will make it with tofu instead of shrimp, just for something different; dont get me wrong, the shrimp was awesome. It was easy, quick and so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IlikeBeets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Perfect recipe for everyone. There's another favourite of mine - Prawn with Posto (poppy seeds) in my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This shrimp curry had the perfect taste and was easy to make, but I would definately make it spicier. It isn't even near the heat that is a signature of curry foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Followed the recipe to the T with normal mustard seeds instead of black ones, absolutely delicious! And went great with a meal of traditional indian daal and basmati rice. Next time I would add some more chili powder and garam masala to spice it up a notch, especially for those from south asia who are used to spicier food. Loved the sugar addition.... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Delicious... A true Indian dish. 1st time I have made Indian at home and been so satisfied. I followed the recipe as exact as I wanted to, meaning, I did not put a 1/4 cup oil, doesn't need it. A tbsp was good enough. May not end up with as much sauce at the end, sadly, but I would rather the less oil. Mostly when you want to lick out the bowl at the end of the meal. And I did not have curry leaves or cilantro, but I don't know how necessary it would have been, there is so much sinful flavor. I also used the Garam Masala recipe mix from this site. You will not be disappointed with this recipe. All must try it and make it their new favorite! Thank you for bringing spice to my table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Excellent!! No curry leaves available, so skipped those. I also used a can of diced tomatoes (including liquid). Everything else I had on hand. I did use 1 lb. of large shrimp, but kept the amounts of the other ingredients the same. I think I would double the amounts if using 2 lb. shrimp. I used 1 tsp. cayenne for the ground red chile. I served it with yellow rice and baked Texas 1015 onions. Wow! I'm embarrassed to admit my husband and myself devoured the entire thing! Thanks for an easy and delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
We really like food with a bold taste, so I doubled the amount of spices. It's one of my favorite dishes at a local restaurant, but was disappointed at first in how "waterey" it's consistency was. I added half a cup of coconut milk and a teaspoon of brown sugar. The result was excellent! I do think I'll try tomato sauce next time. It's also a very quick meal to make, bonus for those who live at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States