Authentic and Easy Shrimp Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Flavorful and filling! For the ginger garlic, I used 1T chopped garlic stirred with ground ginger. Used a full teaspoon of turmeric and cut the chile powder to 1/2 t. I couldn't find curry leaves, but did use 1 t. of curry powder and the effect was good. This was perfect served over a bowl of jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I have made this 3 times now and every time it gets better and better. This truly is an easy recipe which is a good thing since I had never cooked Indian before! Each time I've made this I noticed I put more and more spice in it, and the flavor gets more and more amazing! I've also added a dollop of plain greek yogurt at the end to make the sauce a bit thicker which gave it a nice tang! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Fantastic, and really easy (my 12 yr old made it)! Love South Indian food, but this was great. We didn't have and tomatoes or diced canned ones, so we used a little tomato sause and it worked out just fine in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Yum - this was excellent. Didn't have the curry leaves so just omitted. Next time I may cut down on the water or eliminate altogether since the sauce turned out slightly runny. It was still delicious and I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was fabulous. I am South Indian and this was authentic and not too spicy. I followed others and put 1tsp salt and 1.5 tsp chili powder. Next time I will cut the water in half. Thank you RK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Fantastic flavor -- couldn't find the curry leaves but worked out well. Added a little flower mixed with water to thicken up a bit. Was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-Man and Pivo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! I made a few tweaks. -Instead of diced tomatoes, I did a can of peeled whole tomatoes (that I pulled apart to make more manageable bites) and added some juice to the sauce -I added snow peas along with the shrimp -Didn't have curry leaves, so instead I added 2 tbsp. of curry powder It was so good, albeit a bit spicy. On top of some basmati rice, it was as good as from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldoug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazing. It was very flavorful. My husband loved it very much and asked to make it a staple meal in our family. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I will definitely make this again! With the understanding that curry leaves and curry powder are not the same thing, I still substituted ½ tsp of curry powder for the curry leaves. This cook is on a budget, so I always do what’s most economical, especially if I believe I can still get a good flavor. And a good flavor I did get! I also used 1tbsp of minced garlic and 1 tsp of ginger for the garlic paste as other reviewers did. I used ¼ cup of coconut milk instead of water. Used a can of diced tomatoes that I mostly drained instead of fresh tomato. I’m glad I did not drain the can well, because I needed the liquid to make more of the sauce…which tasted great over rice. Added some celery and red bell pepper in with the onion. I served this over plain white rice and it was delish. One thing to note: this dish is not spicy as written. Anyone can enjoy it! It was perfect to me because I didn’t want it spicy, but if you are looking for a spicier dish, just adjust the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Really tasty! I think i doubled the spices and garlic/ginger. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States