Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Thank You! I've been looking for a good thousand for a long time. Our family loves this we even dipped our homemade fries into it tonight. I followed the recipe exactly and it made 6 1/2 cups. Reminds me of the dressings when I was a kid, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I must concur with all the other reviewers. This dressing is wonderful! I used to love 1000 Islnd, but found that over the years the ready made stuff has bvecome too sweet or cloyingly sour. And what is up with the color. So when I ran out of all other dressings at home and saw I had all of the ingtreds to make this, I decided to see how it came out. Well, I really love this! Mine came out slightly pinkish - from the red peppers I guess, The taste is perfect, and even before I had the salad made I was dipping veggies into it. Only additions were salt. a smidge onion powder (1 tsp.) and black pepper. Thanks, Local 1000 Islander!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I used Miracle Whip and left out the cloves and olives and it still turned out WONDERFUL!! A little sweet and sour, so I think the next time I make this again, I will cut down on the vinegar and cut out the sugar all together. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
A keeper! I used it for a dressing on reuben sandwiches. Everyone who tasted it wanted the recipe. One of those recipes that's even better if you make it just a little bit ahead to let the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This was a great dressing. I think it was the red pepper that made it so much better than other thousand island dressings I have made in the past. I did add about 1 tablespoon of ketchup to appease those family members that wouldn't try it if it didn't have the orange color. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
My bf made a concerned face when he saw that my homemade version of his favorite dressing was not orange. But he freaked out after he tasted it, and now he wants me to make it all the time, and he is constantly eating salads drowned in this stuff as snacks. Maybe I should make my next batch with light mayo! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
A little bit of Heaven atop a bed of crispy romaine! Wow! Everyone loved this dressing. Thanks to the local 1000 Islander! This is a keeper at my house! PS...I must admit I left out the cloves. But it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Made this today. It was very good. I will keep it on hand at all times. My kids even like it. Very easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
This recipe proves how a great dressing can become immensely popular and then be ruined by corporate profiteering interests once they start cutting corners. This dressing is NOT the orange colored 1000 Island we are all used to having. The combination of ingredients bring out excellent flavor as a dressing or veggie dip. I use it in my restaurant and customers who don't like 1000 Island love this dressing. Once you try it you'll know why it became so popular and wonder why every brand of 1000 Isle on the market is orange or pink! Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-79 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States