Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent. Loved it. So much better than that bottled .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domb bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
the abslute best! the only problem for my clients was the color, so i add a few drops red die or a teaspoon tomatoe paste. this is REAL thousand island!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef trent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Both my husband and I said this was the BEST 1000 Island dressing we've ever had. He loves 1000 Island dressing and I don't so I had been buying the bottled dressing. The only changes I made were: omitted the red bell pepper (put it on the shrimp louis salad instead) and added about 1-2 Tblsp. Heinz ketchup (to make it look like store bought) and about 1 tsp. of grated horseradish for just a little bite. After eating this he said that the bottled dressings really overpower the food, especially after a couple bites. This is a keeper and is so easy to make. Try it, you'll like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The answer to my thousand island search!! It's wonderful on vege salads and burgers. I've replaced my standard mix for macaroni salad with this. Even my husband, who can't stand thousand island on his ruben sandwiches, has used this version. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Almost perfect - needs that twangy kick. Next time I will add some more hot sauce and/or probably horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Light and delicious! I used this to make reubens and they turned out fantastic. Next time I think I'll cut the sugar out completely as the red bell pepper sweetened it up enough. Cut the recipe in half and it still made a ton, so be prepared. Made a very, very tasty dipping sauce for salted yam french fries! Also good when mixed with horse-radish and served with salmon cakes. In fact, that was probably the best use for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
One of my favorite dressings is Thousand Island and I am very picky about how it tastes. While visiting relatives in Crescent City, CA, a local restaurant that my family has made a tradition at eating at serves homemade TI dressing for their Crab Louie salad that is absolutely the best I have ever tested. This recipe is very close to that dressing. I slashed the recipe in half and didn't put in quite the amount of sweet pickle relish that it called for (I put in slightly less than 1/4 cup and I think it has more than plenty favor without being too sweet); only 1/4 cup of the red bell pepper (my boyfriend doesn't care too much for them); and no cloves (I didn't have any). This is a great tasting dressing! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
First let me say you must let this set for at least an hour or longer. When I first tasted it I though "just mayo". I cut the recipe in 1/2 and added the following: 1/2 t onion powder & garlic powder 1/2 t cayenne 1 1/2 T horseradish After sitting overnight. WOW this is good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Much better than the stuff you buy at the store. It does make a lot though. Don't know what I'll do with so much dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I love this dressing!!!! The flavors are wonderful after a few hours in the fridge. I can't eat salad anymore with the stuff you get at the store. Thanks for this delicious recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States