Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Agree with most everyone else. 1) Wonderful flavor. 2) What's up with the pink commercial 1000 Island?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really good! I put a bit of ketchup instead of the sugar...and omitted the olives...just my taste, but the recipe is good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is the real deal! It's rich, creamy, and tastes like a true Thousand Island. Just a heads up: This is made with mayo and Worcestershire so it's NOT going to be orange like the bottled kind. This dressing is light brown. As a color experiment, I decided to add a little paprika and got it to come out with a slight salmon color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent. Loved it. So much better than that bottled .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domb bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
the abslute best! the only problem for my clients was the color, so i add a few drops red die or a teaspoon tomatoe paste. this is REAL thousand island!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef trent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Both my husband and I said this was the BEST 1000 Island dressing we've ever had. He loves 1000 Island dressing and I don't so I had been buying the bottled dressing. The only changes I made were: omitted the red bell pepper (put it on the shrimp louis salad instead) and added about 1-2 Tblsp. Heinz ketchup (to make it look like store bought) and about 1 tsp. of grated horseradish for just a little bite. After eating this he said that the bottled dressings really overpower the food, especially after a couple bites. This is a keeper and is so easy to make. Try it, you'll like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The answer to my thousand island search!! It's wonderful on vege salads and burgers. I've replaced my standard mix for macaroni salad with this. Even my husband, who can't stand thousand island on his ruben sandwiches, has used this version. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Almost perfect - needs that twangy kick. Next time I will add some more hot sauce and/or probably horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Light and delicious! I used this to make reubens and they turned out fantastic. Next time I think I'll cut the sugar out completely as the red bell pepper sweetened it up enough. Cut the recipe in half and it still made a ton, so be prepared. Made a very, very tasty dipping sauce for salted yam french fries! Also good when mixed with horse-radish and served with salmon cakes. In fact, that was probably the best use for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
One of my favorite dressings is Thousand Island and I am very picky about how it tastes. While visiting relatives in Crescent City, CA, a local restaurant that my family has made a tradition at eating at serves homemade TI dressing for their Crab Louie salad that is absolutely the best I have ever tested. This recipe is very close to that dressing. I slashed the recipe in half and didn't put in quite the amount of sweet pickle relish that it called for (I put in slightly less than 1/4 cup and I think it has more than plenty favor without being too sweet); only 1/4 cup of the red bell pepper (my boyfriend doesn't care too much for them); and no cloves (I didn't have any). This is a great tasting dressing! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States