Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
This recipe proves how a great dressing can become immensely popular and then be ruined by corporate profiteering interests once they start cutting corners. This dressing is NOT the orange colored 1000 Island we are all used to having. The combination of ingredients bring out excellent flavor as a dressing or veggie dip. I use it in my restaurant and customers who don't like 1000 Island love this dressing. Once you try it you'll know why it became so popular and wonder why every brand of 1000 Isle on the market is orange or pink! Dan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I grew up in a tiny town in the midwest and we had this cafe run by some woman who is no longer with us and she made the absolutely best homemade thousand island recipe. This is the first recipe I have come across that gets even close to hers. It's really good! I even dip Ritz crackers in it for a quick snack late at night.>. weird huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I must concur with all the other reviewers. This dressing is wonderful! I used to love 1000 Islnd, but found that over the years the ready made stuff has bvecome too sweet or cloyingly sour. And what is up with the color. So when I ran out of all other dressings at home and saw I had all of the ingtreds to make this, I decided to see how it came out. Well, I really love this! Mine came out slightly pinkish - from the red peppers I guess, The taste is perfect, and even before I had the salad made I was dipping veggies into it. Only additions were salt. a smidge onion powder (1 tsp.) and black pepper. Thanks, Local 1000 Islander!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
My bf made a concerned face when he saw that my homemade version of his favorite dressing was not orange. But he freaked out after he tasted it, and now he wants me to make it all the time, and he is constantly eating salads drowned in this stuff as snacks. Maybe I should make my next batch with light mayo! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Made this today. It was very good. I will keep it on hand at all times. My kids even like it. Very easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
A little bit of Heaven atop a bed of crispy romaine! Wow! Everyone loved this dressing. Thanks to the local 1000 Islander! This is a keeper at my house! PS...I must admit I left out the cloves. But it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was very good. I hate olives so they were out. I used reduced fat mayo and it worked well. We also used this as a topping on a hamburger. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is a great TI dressing! I didn't have any red peppers or cloves on hand, so those were omitted. But I added a teaspoon of chili sauce that gave it some color and a little bit of that extra taste that the peppers may have provided. Thanks so much. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Thank You! I've been looking for a good thousand for a long time. Our family loves this we even dipped our homemade fries into it tonight. I followed the recipe exactly and it made 6 1/2 cups. Reminds me of the dressings when I was a kid, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Hubs requested a salad with Thousand Island Dressing for supper tonight and, while I was really enthusiastic about this recipe, I went into it with a great deal of skepticism, thinking he would never go for it - because it wasn't orange-ish. I was even tempted to add paprika or a dab of tomato paste just to psych him. In the end, I decided against it and prepared it just as is. To my surprise, delight and relief he remarked that the color of the dressing was an immediate tip-off that this was the real deal, the house made stuff you get in great supper clubs. I agree. This was beyond delicious, so different from commercially prepared Thousand Island dressings, and worth the few extra steps it took to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States