Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was very good. I hate olives so they were out. I used reduced fat mayo and it worked well. We also used this as a topping on a hamburger. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I grew up in a tiny town in the midwest and we had this cafe run by some woman who is no longer with us and she made the absolutely best homemade thousand island recipe. This is the first recipe I have come across that gets even close to hers. It's really good! I even dip Ritz crackers in it for a quick snack late at night.>. weird huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is a great TI dressing! I didn't have any red peppers or cloves on hand, so those were omitted. But I added a teaspoon of chili sauce that gave it some color and a little bit of that extra taste that the peppers may have provided. Thanks so much. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I love Thousand Island, but this particular recipe didn't appeal to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Needed Thousand Island dressing to finish making reuban sandwiches, this was WONDERFUL! :-) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Thank You! I've been looking for a good thousand for a long time. Our family loves this we even dipped our homemade fries into it tonight. I followed the recipe exactly and it made 6 1/2 cups. Reminds me of the dressings when I was a kid, thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
I must concur with all the other reviewers. This dressing is wonderful! I used to love 1000 Islnd, but found that over the years the ready made stuff has bvecome too sweet or cloyingly sour. And what is up with the color. So when I ran out of all other dressings at home and saw I had all of the ingtreds to make this, I decided to see how it came out. Well, I really love this! Mine came out slightly pinkish - from the red peppers I guess, The taste is perfect, and even before I had the salad made I was dipping veggies into it. Only additions were salt. a smidge onion powder (1 tsp.) and black pepper. Thanks, Local 1000 Islander!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
I used Miracle Whip and left out the cloves and olives and it still turned out WONDERFUL!! A little sweet and sour, so I think the next time I make this again, I will cut down on the vinegar and cut out the sugar all together. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
A keeper! I used it for a dressing on reuben sandwiches. Everyone who tasted it wanted the recipe. One of those recipes that's even better if you make it just a little bit ahead to let the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This was a great dressing. I think it was the red pepper that made it so much better than other thousand island dressings I have made in the past. I did add about 1 tablespoon of ketchup to appease those family members that wouldn't try it if it didn't have the orange color. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States