Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Here's my secret ingredient - add one crumbled up hard-boiled egg to the dressing. Really adds body and a deep flavor. A lot of high-end restaurants add a hard-boiled egg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
It's good but I don't see what all the fuss is about! It didn't make me say wow! but all in all it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WOW! This was unbelievably good! I left out the items my family doesn't like (olives and red pepper) and added a dollop of chili sauce for the color as another member suggested. I'll NEVER buy store bought again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shibanay
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I don't like 1000 island dressing except on rueban sandwiches, which is why I didn't have any on hand. I had some leftover corned beef to make sandwiches with, but no dressing, until I stumbled upon this recipe. Many 1000 recipes were ketchup, mayo and relish (yuck!) Let me tell you, after tasting this dressing, and following the recipe exactly, I am an authentic thousand island dressing lover! It made my ruebans outstanding, and I will never go back to the sorry dressing they call 1000 island in the stores! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shibanay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is absolutely terrific. I used it for reubens as a dipping sauce. I think between the sauerkraut and the dressing and cheese they can sometimes be too wet. Anyway...very, very good. I did put the veggies (I added 2 T sweet onion) and the egg through the food processor as opposed to using a simple dice. I didn't think I'd like the big chunks. I cut the recipe by a third as I do not feed an army...it worked fine in the smaller quantity. Try it and you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this exactly as written and when I first tasted it, I didn't care much for it, thought it was tart and wished I hadn't used that much vinegar. I added about another tablespoon of sugar but that didn't seem to make much difference. Oh, well, I put it in the refrigerator (the recipe made SO MUCH, that I didn't want to pitch it right away).... Then I tried it today, and OMG this is to DIE for!!! My point is, let it mellow for awhile, it definitely needs to let the flavors mingle. Yesterday 2 stars, today at least 5 - 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'm glad to see homemade dressing recipes - personal preference, I didn't like this one, but appreciate the submit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
eh. very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I was skeptical at first... but this recipe is AWESOME. I never liked 1000 island before this recipe! I didn't change a thing, which is very unusual for me. For anyone wondering about the color, it comes out looking like caesar dressing. It gets better and better the longer it sits, and has a little tang without being sour. We used it on reubens, as a veggie dip, and on crackers with pastrami and cheese. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
This salad dressing was delicious, and the recipe yields a ton of end result! I also found this to be an easy throw together courtesy of can chopped olive. I too added some chili sauce to get a slight color in it that would get folks to try it. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States