Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The answer to my thousand island search!! It's wonderful on vege salads and burgers. I've replaced my standard mix for macaroni salad with this. Even my husband, who can't stand thousand island on his ruben sandwiches, has used this version. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Almost perfect - needs that twangy kick. Next time I will add some more hot sauce and/or probably horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Light and delicious! I used this to make reubens and they turned out fantastic. Next time I think I'll cut the sugar out completely as the red bell pepper sweetened it up enough. Cut the recipe in half and it still made a ton, so be prepared. Made a very, very tasty dipping sauce for salted yam french fries! Also good when mixed with horse-radish and served with salmon cakes. In fact, that was probably the best use for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
One of my favorite dressings is Thousand Island and I am very picky about how it tastes. While visiting relatives in Crescent City, CA, a local restaurant that my family has made a tradition at eating at serves homemade TI dressing for their Crab Louie salad that is absolutely the best I have ever tested. This recipe is very close to that dressing. I slashed the recipe in half and didn't put in quite the amount of sweet pickle relish that it called for (I put in slightly less than 1/4 cup and I think it has more than plenty favor without being too sweet); only 1/4 cup of the red bell pepper (my boyfriend doesn't care too much for them); and no cloves (I didn't have any). This is a great tasting dressing! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
First let me say you must let this set for at least an hour or longer. When I first tasted it I though "just mayo". I cut the recipe in 1/2 and added the following: 1/2 t onion powder & garlic powder 1/2 t cayenne 1 1/2 T horseradish After sitting overnight. WOW this is good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Much better than the stuff you buy at the store. It does make a lot though. Don't know what I'll do with so much dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I love this dressing!!!! The flavors are wonderful after a few hours in the fridge. I can't eat salad anymore with the stuff you get at the store. Thanks for this delicious recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This dressing is delicious. I am not an egg fan though. If you love eggs in your salad you will flip over this recipe. I now make with out mixing in the eggs and it is perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is a great recipe. I did not have red peppers, so I substituted cayenne pepper powder to taste. It turned out very tasty, and a bit of tang which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nascar43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cool Ridge, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I used all ingredients except cloves and added a bit of horseradish sauce to tang it up. I agree with some of the other reviews that it gets better when you let it set for a couple of hours. Used this over a Mahi tuna salad. Scrumptous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States