Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good and easy to make. I always bought the ready-made thousand island dressing but I will stop buying now. Thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I was looking for a homemade Thousand Island dressing because I do not like the bottled ones. When I read that the person who shared it was from the Thousand Island region I knew it had to be good. I didn't change anything, though I was going to omit the black olives and red pepper, I decided not to. This dressing is very good, even my children liked it. We made Burger in a Bowl which called for Thousand Island dressing and it was fabulous. It makes quite of bit of dressing, so next time I will cut it in half since it has the peppers and olives and I knew it wouldn't have a long shelf life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Sorry, I am used to the Thousand Island that most people use. This was more like a sandwich spread and too time consuming to make. I like the "pink stuff". I usually make my own with crushed tomatoes instead of the ketcup one. Once you make homemade, whatever your version, you no longer like store bought bottle dressing. It is always fun to try something new and it was interesting the history of this recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberry, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This recipe was a little too tangy for me with the amount of vinegar, olives and pickles. It will be a better sauce or dip perhaps than it was a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good dressing, but I would probably cut back on the olives. Also substituted some of the mayo with soured cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe ROCKS?I've made it twice now and didn't tell my family/guests what it was until they tasted it, all loved it and were surprised since normally they might not like commercial Thousand Island dressing...This will always be in our fridge, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is wonderful, with ingredients that I would not have thought of, so obviously hadn't had authentic TID before. The only addition I made was to add about 2T of ketchup for color and a bit deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Incredible! My husband only uses 1000 island on his salads, but gets the store bought kind. I made this as a surprise for him on Father's Day and he told me this was how 1000 island is supposed to taste! Loved it so much he says I've ruined him now--he'll only want me to make this. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Agree with most everyone else. 1) Wonderful flavor. 2) What's up with the pink commercial 1000 Island?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really good! I put a bit of ketchup instead of the sugar...and omitted the olives...just my taste, but the recipe is good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States