Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very good dressing, but I would probably cut back on the olives. Also substituted some of the mayo with soured cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe ROCKS?I've made it twice now and didn't tell my family/guests what it was until they tasted it, all loved it and were surprised since normally they might not like commercial Thousand Island dressing...This will always be in our fridge, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This is wonderful, with ingredients that I would not have thought of, so obviously hadn't had authentic TID before. The only addition I made was to add about 2T of ketchup for color and a bit deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Incredible! My husband only uses 1000 island on his salads, but gets the store bought kind. I made this as a surprise for him on Father's Day and he told me this was how 1000 island is supposed to taste! Loved it so much he says I've ruined him now--he'll only want me to make this. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Agree with most everyone else. 1) Wonderful flavor. 2) What's up with the pink commercial 1000 Island?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Really good! I put a bit of ketchup instead of the sugar...and omitted the olives...just my taste, but the recipe is good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is the real deal! It's rich, creamy, and tastes like a true Thousand Island. Just a heads up: This is made with mayo and Worcestershire so it's NOT going to be orange like the bottled kind. This dressing is light brown. As a color experiment, I decided to add a little paprika and got it to come out with a slight salmon color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Excellent. Loved it. So much better than that bottled .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domb bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
the abslute best! the only problem for my clients was the color, so i add a few drops red die or a teaspoon tomatoe paste. this is REAL thousand island!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef trent

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Both my husband and I said this was the BEST 1000 Island dressing we've ever had. He loves 1000 Island dressing and I don't so I had been buying the bottled dressing. The only changes I made were: omitted the red bell pepper (put it on the shrimp louis salad instead) and added about 1-2 Tblsp. Heinz ketchup (to make it look like store bought) and about 1 tsp. of grated horseradish for just a little bite. After eating this he said that the bottled dressings really overpower the food, especially after a couple bites. This is a keeper and is so easy to make. Try it, you'll like it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States