Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Mmmmmmm! WOW! I was looking for a tasty 1000 Island recipes-I found it! Granted we usually eat steamed, baked or vinagrated veggies- we were wanted a good, old fashioned green salad with all the fixings. I made 1/2 recipe, omitted sugar,cloves & bell pepper - but added seasoned rice vinegar( a kitchen favorite in our home) & Sirachacha ( Asian roosster sauce- sweet/ hot chili sauce-very popular these days- on West coast) and added 2 eggs for 1/2 redcipe! Yummy! Plus now the dressing has a pink hue to it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joes wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
The only thing that I changed was the sugar content. I used the a natural sweetener and it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tnviv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I thought this was excellent. 1-31-13: Scale back to serving for 4, but try two eggs. Still excellent. 5-24-13: Used 1 egg in serving for 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious. Brought it to Thanksgiving dinner and my family went nuts over it. HOWEVER, be forewarned...if you follow the recipe as written you end up with almost a half gallon of dressing. Perfect if you're making it for a church potluck or something but it's far more than I could ever use before it goes bad. May want to cut the recipe in half if you have a small household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCADAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this recipe this afternoon after watching a PBS documentary on the origins of the dressing (view documentary here at http://youtu.be/M1hlYKIpbJg). The dressing is lovely, so much more flavor than store bought. My hubby was rather skeptical at first ("it's not orange" -lol!!) but loves it as well. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Shaler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Marcy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is very good, but not the best homemade 1,000 island I've had. If you use fresh red peppers you don't get the traditional pink hue. Mine also came out a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
OMG! THIS RECIPE IS THE BOMB! I HAD TO QUARTER THE SERVINGS, SINCE I DIDNT WANT TO MAKE THAT MUCH. I DID IT IN MY "BULLET" BLENDER AND IT WAS PERFECT (FORGOT TO ADD THE BOILED EGG) BUT IT DIDNT MATTER, WILL NEVER BUY THE STUFF IN BOTTLE AGAIN. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is an AWESOME recipe. It makes the stuff you get in the jar or bottle at the grocery store a PALE IMITATION. Love it, love it, love it. Oh, and it DOES make a lovely dip for a veggie tray. Try it instead of Ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. I simply mix it up in a 1 qt. jar; I add enough catsup (for color) to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
As a vegan, I made a few changes to this really excellent recipe. I omitted the eggs, used agave nectar in place of the sugar, used vegenaise and kalamata olives. This turned out sooooo good! We haven't eaten 1000 Island in years. It's now a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States