Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
this was fun to make and the results are mind blowing. Everyone who has this asks for the recipe. Its great on burgers as well as wedge salads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My husband loves Thousand Island on salad and hambugers so I decided to make this for him to enjoy while I was away. I agree that you should at least make it one day before you plan to serve it. I also added 2 TBSP of tomato paste to give a little extra color and taste. I love it! So far I've had it on a reuben, hamburger, ham sandwich and the best was on a chef salad! OOH it was so good! I'll never buy a bottled version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Jordan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Here's my secret ingredient - add one crumbled up hard-boiled egg to the dressing. Really adds body and a deep flavor. A lot of high-end restaurants add a hard-boiled egg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
It's good but I don't see what all the fuss is about! It didn't make me say wow! but all in all it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
WOW! This was unbelievably good! I left out the items my family doesn't like (olives and red pepper) and added a dollop of chili sauce for the color as another member suggested. I'll NEVER buy store bought again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shibanay
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I don't like 1000 island dressing except on rueban sandwiches, which is why I didn't have any on hand. I had some leftover corned beef to make sandwiches with, but no dressing, until I stumbled upon this recipe. Many 1000 recipes were ketchup, mayo and relish (yuck!) Let me tell you, after tasting this dressing, and following the recipe exactly, I am an authentic thousand island dressing lover! It made my ruebans outstanding, and I will never go back to the sorry dressing they call 1000 island in the stores! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shibanay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is absolutely terrific. I used it for reubens as a dipping sauce. I think between the sauerkraut and the dressing and cheese they can sometimes be too wet. Anyway...very, very good. I did put the veggies (I added 2 T sweet onion) and the egg through the food processor as opposed to using a simple dice. I didn't think I'd like the big chunks. I cut the recipe by a third as I do not feed an army...it worked fine in the smaller quantity. Try it and you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I made this exactly as written and when I first tasted it, I didn't care much for it, thought it was tart and wished I hadn't used that much vinegar. I added about another tablespoon of sugar but that didn't seem to make much difference. Oh, well, I put it in the refrigerator (the recipe made SO MUCH, that I didn't want to pitch it right away).... Then I tried it today, and OMG this is to DIE for!!! My point is, let it mellow for awhile, it definitely needs to let the flavors mingle. Yesterday 2 stars, today at least 5 - 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I'm glad to see homemade dressing recipes - personal preference, I didn't like this one, but appreciate the submit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
eh. very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States