Authentic Thousand Island Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is very good, but not the best homemade 1,000 island I've had. If you use fresh red peppers you don't get the traditional pink hue. Mine also came out a little thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
OMG! THIS RECIPE IS THE BOMB! I HAD TO QUARTER THE SERVINGS, SINCE I DIDNT WANT TO MAKE THAT MUCH. I DID IT IN MY "BULLET" BLENDER AND IT WAS PERFECT (FORGOT TO ADD THE BOILED EGG) BUT IT DIDNT MATTER, WILL NEVER BUY THE STUFF IN BOTTLE AGAIN. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is an AWESOME recipe. It makes the stuff you get in the jar or bottle at the grocery store a PALE IMITATION. Love it, love it, love it. Oh, and it DOES make a lovely dip for a veggie tray. Try it instead of Ranch dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is absolutely delicious. I simply mix it up in a 1 qt. jar; I add enough catsup (for color) to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
As a vegan, I made a few changes to this really excellent recipe. I omitted the eggs, used agave nectar in place of the sugar, used vegenaise and kalamata olives. This turned out sooooo good! We haven't eaten 1000 Island in years. It's now a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This recipe is fantastic, I'll never use anything else! I make a batch and share with my neighbor. It's a real crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It is AWESOME! I am making the Reuben Pizza recipe I recieved from allrecipes and wanted a homemade Thousand Island dressing for it... I searched the allrecipes data base and found this one... INCREDIBLE! The only thing that I changed was I used roasted red peppers instead of raw... very yummy! I also used 1/2 less fat mayo and 1/2 regular mayo to lightened the fat content. Again, THANK YOU! I will never use any other Thousand Island dressing... by the way, my husband doesn't care for Thousand Island dressing, he LOVES this recipe... he is putting it on everything he can think of! This dressing definately dance's all over your tongue with flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good and easy to make. I always bought the ready-made thousand island dressing but I will stop buying now. Thanks you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I was looking for a homemade Thousand Island dressing because I do not like the bottled ones. When I read that the person who shared it was from the Thousand Island region I knew it had to be good. I didn't change anything, though I was going to omit the black olives and red pepper, I decided not to. This dressing is very good, even my children liked it. We made Burger in a Bowl which called for Thousand Island dressing and it was fabulous. It makes quite of bit of dressing, so next time I will cut it in half since it has the peppers and olives and I knew it wouldn't have a long shelf life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Sorry, I am used to the Thousand Island that most people use. This was more like a sandwich spread and too time consuming to make. I like the "pink stuff". I usually make my own with crushed tomatoes instead of the ketcup one. Once you make homemade, whatever your version, you no longer like store bought bottle dressing. It is always fun to try something new and it was interesting the history of this recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberry, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States