Authentic Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
first, thank you for the good reviews. And, babbini ur totally right, when i submitted this recipe to the site , i put red curry powder, and u can substitute it for cayenne pepper too, but i think it was a typing mistake, they deleted the word red. And u can substitue galangal by ginger, however don't skip the lime leaves or the lemongrass, it makes a big difference. thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Easy on the brown sugar, I would put a tablespoon. Also we couldn't find lime leafs so we zested a lime instead. Just as good in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
oh my gosh- it is authentic and tastes just like the one at a local restaurant! Aince I eat Thai but rarely make it, I asked an asian friend to pick up some of the harder to find ingredients-asian mkt only. Galangal is apparently VERY close to ginger so you can use it interchangably. And the curry should be red Thai curry not the regular kind... This is delicious! Thank you for the recipe. Please post more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I've had Thom Kha Gai in many great Thai restaurants and this rivals the best. I'm sure it would have been even better had I used Kaffir leaves but couldn't find them at the grocery store. I also substituted ginger for galangal. I used half the mushrooms required which was a good amount and used chicken instead of shrimp. Can't wait to make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a huge hit amongst all my friends. I went heavy on the lime leaves, galangal and added fresh basil from the tube (in the refrigerated section). I actually used regular curry and it came out great. I also added unshelled edemame. Substituted chicken for shrmip and chicken turned out very moist. Before straining out the herbs, keep tasting broth until it tastes flavorful to you. I'll probably try with thai curry paste next time to taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe is the best on AllRecipes.com. I cannot believe I made such authentic tasting Thai soup, just as good as a Thai restaurant's! The only changes I made were 1- used yellow curry instead of red 2- couldn't find kaffir lime leaves so used a whole lime rind instead and 3 - added baby corn to the mix. This soup is gonig to becomea staple when I need to impress visiting family and friends. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Like many other reviewers, I could not get all the ingredients for this recipe. Even so, it still came out tasting just like the Thai Coconut Soup I get from my favorite restaurant without hurting my wallet. This recipe makes a fabulously rich soup that is a treat for the senses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
FANTASTIC! This soup came out oh oh ooooh so good. My roommate who never had Thai loved it! The smell alone was stunning! A true dish for the senses! Just a few things though: 1)the serving size i chose was for 8 yet it only was enough for 4 of us (and we are not big eaters) 2) The galangal amount was a tad too little. Next time I will probably double it. 3) I used regular yellow curry powder and it still came out good. I will try Thai red powder next time. I couldnt find it so I had to go with the regular yellow one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I couldn't believe how close this tasted to my favorite Viet/Thai restaurant. I added more vegetables and chicken and it came out soooo good. You can add pretty much anything to this soup and it will come out delicious. I thought that the recipe called for too much liquid so I cut back to 1 can coconut milk and 1 cup water but I was wrong...the soup is what makes this dish so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Wonderful soup. I was amazing at the amount of flavor, but not at all overpowering. My family and I loved it!!! Even my mother, whose isn't a big fan of shrimp, and it was a nice gift for my wife for our wedding aniversery. I will most certainly make this soup again. I highly recommend it. this is a nice hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States