Authentic Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Wonderful soup. I was amazing at the amount of flavor, but not at all overpowering. My family and I loved it!!! Even my mother, whose isn't a big fan of shrimp, and it was a nice gift for my wife for our wedding aniversery. I will most certainly make this soup again. I highly recommend it. this is a nice hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
oh my gosh- it is authentic and tastes just like the one at a local restaurant! Aince I eat Thai but rarely make it, I asked an asian friend to pick up some of the harder to find ingredients-asian mkt only. Galangal is apparently VERY close to ginger so you can use it interchangably. And the curry should be red Thai curry not the regular kind... This is delicious! Thank you for the recipe. Please post more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
first, thank you for the good reviews. And, babbini ur totally right, when i submitted this recipe to the site , i put red curry powder, and u can substitute it for cayenne pepper too, but i think it was a typing mistake, they deleted the word red. And u can substitue galangal by ginger, however don't skip the lime leaves or the lemongrass, it makes a big difference. thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very authentic. Tastes just like the Tom Ka Gai we had in our favorite Thai restaurant. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This recipe is the best on AllRecipes.com. I cannot believe I made such authentic tasting Thai soup, just as good as a Thai restaurant's! The only changes I made were 1- used yellow curry instead of red 2- couldn't find kaffir lime leaves so used a whole lime rind instead and 3 - added baby corn to the mix. This soup is gonig to becomea staple when I need to impress visiting family and friends. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I think that this recipe is great. I rated it at a five b/c I think it would have been a five if I hadn't tried to be a bit healthier and use lite cocount milk. It was a little bland, but with full flavor milk, it would have been dreamy! I also replaced the shrimp with tofu when I served it. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KALAHANNE
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I had to substitute ginger for galganal, and couldn't find kaffir leaves. I used ginger and basil instead. While it probably had a different taste than the recipe intends, it was still delicious. The red pepper flakes on top made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I couldn't believe how close this tasted to my favorite Viet/Thai restaurant. I added more vegetables and chicken and it came out soooo good. You can add pretty much anything to this soup and it will come out delicious. I thought that the recipe called for too much liquid so I cut back to 1 can coconut milk and 1 cup water but I was wrong...the soup is what makes this dish so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I think this recipe is amazing! It tasted just like the soup at the Thai restaurants and was easy to make. Everyone I've made it for loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I've had Thom Kha Gai in many great Thai restaurants and this rivals the best. I'm sure it would have been even better had I used Kaffir leaves but couldn't find them at the grocery store. I also substituted ginger for galangal. I used half the mushrooms required which was a good amount and used chicken instead of shrimp. Can't wait to make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States