Authentic Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
As good as any Kom Kah Gai I've ever tasted. I zested a small lime in place of the leaves. I used 1/2 the amount of shitake's called for and it was still too mushroom laiden. Next time I would use 5oz for 8 servings. Cut the brown sugar in half and taste, adding more as necessary. I made it a second time with local honey as a sweetenter substitute. Also added 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 a head of broc, 2 carrots, 1/3 onion and garnished with some fresh basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I just took my first crack at this, and it is really super delicious. I do agree with a previous review about the serving size being a little small - it's probably scaled for those little bowls you get at actual Thai restaurants. I also tried to stick to the recipe very closely but did swap out Key Lime leaves for the Kaffir (since I have a tree in my back yard), chives for the green onion garnish (in my yard too) and added a package of oyster mushrooms in addition to shiitake because they were on sale. :-) My only complaint/suggestion is to use only the shiitake caps, not the stems. The latter are a little chewy and tough in the soup. Can't wait to have leftovers tomorrow night. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Fabulose! I will definitely repeat this one. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did not have the lime leaves, but I did add the zest from an entire lime. I also subed ginger. I used about 1-1/2 teasponns of red curry paste instead of curry powder. The red paste has ginger and lime flavors and adds a nice bit of zip. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Simple to make and DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a wonderful reciepe! Very easy and my boyfriend and I had fun gathering the ingreadients and preparing it. The aroma from this soup is awsome. We found an Asian Market and they had everything we needed. The Market owner suggested that we add to the reciepe cilantro. About a half of cup chopped. I have just recently experienced Thai cuisine and this reciepe is right on. I will make this again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is my new favorite soup that I make! I did not use any meat and extra mushrooms and used one can of light coconut milk. I used ginger instead of galangal, but everything else per recipe, which gives it the amazing flavor. I am not done with my batch and already want to make more! I also garnished with fresh cilantro, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was a HIT! Only change was lowfat coconut milk and a ton more red pepper since we like spicy foods. Do NOT omit the lime. It really tops this dish off. We used all authentic ingredients since we have Asian grocers local. The galongal and kaffir lime leaves really make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeePatience

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I do not think this is any exaggeration to say that this is the best soup I have ever tasted. Based on other reviews, I used ginger in place of the galangal. The lemongrass and lime leaves are essential. I also used one can of regular and one can of lite coconut milk, and used red curry paste in place of the curry powder. The flavor in this soup is incredible. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was really good. I also added some rice stick noodles and zucchini. I'll definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I wanted to like this. I really really wanted to like this. But I didn't! I thought there was too much lime juice. Quite a lot of work and not worth it in my opinion. However, my husband liked it so thats why I gave it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States