Authentic Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Like many other reviewers, I could not get all the ingredients for this recipe. Even so, it still came out tasting just like the Thai Coconut Soup I get from my favorite restaurant without hurting my wallet. This recipe makes a fabulously rich soup that is a treat for the senses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
Great recipe...as good as my local Thai restaurant and my husband says better! I would make some changes next time around though! I used half shrimp, half scallops. Also used giner root. Could not find the lime leaves, will try lime zest next time instead. I used a half pound of mushrooms as they are very expensive, and that was plenty! I would cut the brown sugar in half, this is a little too sweet. I used yellow curry, but bet the red or cayenne pepper would be much better. Also, in an attempt to duplicate my favorite dish at Fire Bowl Cafe (the Thai Seafood Tom Kah Soup/noodle bowl), I made some other changes! I added about 4 oz. vermicelli noodles already cooked along with the seafood. It was really good, the noodles really absorbed the flavor! Also, I don't think Fire Bowl uses curry, but instead uses some kind of red chili sauce, may try that next time, or perhaps the red curry or cayenne would be closer in flavor. They also use cilantro. This is delicious and one of the ultimate comfort foods!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This is the best soup!! We love it so much we have it every week! We use tofu instead of shrimp and I add 3 cans of milk instead of 2 and a little cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
FANTASTIC! This soup came out oh oh ooooh so good. My roommate who never had Thai loved it! The smell alone was stunning! A true dish for the senses! Just a few things though: 1)the serving size i chose was for 8 yet it only was enough for 4 of us (and we are not big eaters) 2) The galangal amount was a tad too little. Next time I will probably double it. 3) I used regular yellow curry powder and it still came out good. I will try Thai red powder next time. I couldnt find it so I had to go with the regular yellow one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was a huge hit amongst all my friends. I went heavy on the lime leaves, galangal and added fresh basil from the tube (in the refrigerated section). I actually used regular curry and it came out great. I also added unshelled edemame. Substituted chicken for shrmip and chicken turned out very moist. Before straining out the herbs, keep tasting broth until it tastes flavorful to you. I'll probably try with thai curry paste next time to taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Easy on the brown sugar, I would put a tablespoon. Also we couldn't find lime leafs so we zested a lime instead. Just as good in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Love this recipe, I used 1/4 c. dragonfly brand instant red curry paste, it has great flavor without the over powering you with spice. you can use any veggies you like, I personally like bamboo shoots, eggplant, zucchini, and green onions. simmer till flavors infuse and fresh tomatoes at the end are great too. if you like it a little thicker you can use a little coconut cream . this is totally one of those recipes you can tweak and it still turns out fabulous! just a tip if you don't use fish sauce you need to add salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I've had Thom Kha Gai in many great Thai restaurants and this rivals the best. I'm sure it would have been even better had I used Kaffir leaves but couldn't find them at the grocery store. I also substituted ginger for galangal. I used half the mushrooms required which was a good amount and used chicken instead of shrimp. Can't wait to make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I think this recipe is amazing! It tasted just like the soup at the Thai restaurants and was easy to make. Everyone I've made it for loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I couldn't believe how close this tasted to my favorite Viet/Thai restaurant. I added more vegetables and chicken and it came out soooo good. You can add pretty much anything to this soup and it will come out delicious. I thought that the recipe called for too much liquid so I cut back to 1 can coconut milk and 1 cup water but I was wrong...the soup is what makes this dish so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States