Authentic Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Same as in a restraunt! I love it! Thank you! Also, for those of you who had trouble finding the kafir lime leaves, at my store they kept them in the freezer in little baggies. They told me they keep longer and just to pop them in the dish when I needed them. I thought that was good to know! Thanks, again for a yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Organic Nut
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
OMG this soup was delicious and I believe tasted so authentic. I was able to find lemongrass and galangal and my local farmers market that caters to the cuisine of the world, literally. But opt not to spend money on items I would only use in this recipe. The red curry paste that I bought had all the ingredients that I didn't purchase already in it. Yay for saving money. I put some oil in the pot and fried the curry paste for a little then added chicken to that removed the chicken then added chicken broth and the coconut milk and then added all of the ingredients it called for. I also added fresh cherry tomatoes cut in half for color and fresh snowpeas. I used sliced mushrooms that were on sale. And added some cilantro. This recipe was excellent. I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made it with splenda instead of sugar and I omitted the galangal because I could not find it at my Asian supermarket. I also added chicken broth and used chicken instead of shrimp. It turned out to be extremely scrumptious! I will definitely keep this one as a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe is so tasty and incredibly easy to make! I used ginger and lime zest, and the soup still turned out fantastic. Thanks danadane for the awesome tip--I only used 1 teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
The best I've ever had. I did use chicken instead of shrimp, and subbed the zest of one lime for the lime leaves (made a half recipe). Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent! Loved it - didn't have the kaffir lime leaves, but used the zest from 1 lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I used this recipe as a base, with a couple changes: Since the shrimp's not too cool to eat here, (Thanks a lot BP!) i used scallops, clams, and tuna. I made the broth all the same, but ginger instead of galangal, zest instead of lime leaf, and left out the curry powder. when I cooked the clams, i used 1/4 cup water/coconut milk mix to steam em, and added all that juice to the soup as well. The tuna, i seared up a filet after marinating it in a oil/thai chili/lime sauce, thin sliced it, and laid it out on top the soup. Delicious! loved how it was all limey-fishy. My bf was super pleased to come home to that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by _-*Rasta Pasta*-_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very very good..the one change was using Mae Ploy's Panang curry paste rather than [uck!] stale old powder..but, a real keeper that I'm making as a light welcome home soup for my globe trotting daughter and super professional chef son-in-law..which should tell you how much I hold it in esteem..oh, I don't add as much sugar, about half, without hurting a thing. I also add the raw shrimp at 'reheat' so as not to overcook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
As good as any Kom Kah Gai I've ever tasted. I zested a small lime in place of the leaves. I used 1/2 the amount of shitake's called for and it was still too mushroom laiden. Next time I would use 5oz for 8 servings. Cut the brown sugar in half and taste, adding more as necessary. I made it a second time with local honey as a sweetenter substitute. Also added 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 a head of broc, 2 carrots, 1/3 onion and garnished with some fresh basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States