Authentic Thai Coconut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was soooo good! We love Thai food and had this soup at our fave. Thai restaurant. I was craving this soup so I decided to replicate and this was it! Do NOT substitute for the true asian ingredients. That's where all the delicious flavor is at...we got ours at the Vietnamese store so any Asian market should have these basic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
excellent soup! Although I think I'll put a little less sugar next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
MMM Delicious! I think next time I will go easier on the green onion though :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My husband and I made this last night and agreed it was the best soup we've ever had and definitely the best we've ever made ourselves! We used ginger instead of galangal, zest of 1 lime instead of lime leaves,only about 4 ounces of mushrooms,red curry paste instead of curry powder, and we added rice noodles. The only thing we'll do differently next time is add about 1 more teaspoon of the red curry paste for just a little more zing. It was delicious and we're having it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good recipe but I wuold drop the curry powder (not Thai) and use fresh not dried chile. You can leave the chillies whole and remove before serving. If youcan find kaffir lime leaves at the local market buy a bunch and put the in your freezer till needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Excellent. I found all of the ingredients at a local Asian store, except I used yellow curry. The only thing I will change is to add cooked tofu and maybe some carrot or baby corn. I think it needs more veggies. This recipe is very flexible, as long as you stick with the basic recipe on the broth. I did not use shrimp. Very quick and easy to make. I'll double the recipe next time because it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I was craving coconut soup so bad and this definitely hit the spot!! Make sure you skim the top of the soup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrkyZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Very Good - authentic to a degree. DO NOT use lime zest instead of the Kaffir leaves they are very important to the flavor and freshness of the soup. I started with Chicken Broth, sauteed onion, lots, red pepper in a garlic ginger paste available at your local Indian store. Used a red curry paste, sauteed with the onions and red pepper, really brings out the flavor. Use an authentic Asian palm sugar melted in water. Use equal amounts of coconut milk and chicken stock. The soup does not need to age, make today, eat today. Ground lemongrass is available in most Asian markets, making the taste more concentrated than using the stalks. Good soup tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
i was nervous about making it but it turned out SO good. one of my favorites now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I added 4 cups of water instead of two, one of those cups being chicken broth not water. Otherwise, its too heavy, and the coconut taste is too strong. I also added two finely chopped green peppers and 1 cup of finely chopped mushrooms. Tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sereen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States