Authentic Thai Cashew Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
i used this very versatile recipe as a base.. i used the veggies i had on hand like others did (zucchini, carrots, celery, bell pepper, mushrooms).. cooked the chicken (thighs) first in some leftover bacon fat from breakfast.. removed the chicken with a slotted spoon.. added the ketchup (2 tbsp), oyster sauce (1 tbsp), and soy sauce (light) .. also added 1 tbsp of fish sauce.. probably doubed if not tripled the garlic chile paste and left out the sugar.. cooked the veggies in that.. stirred in the chicken once they were done and topped off with chopped green onion and cilantro.. i toasted the cashews (almost burned them..oops!) and they were a nice little addition to the dish but it didn't make the dish.. i could have gone without.. so much for cashew chicken, right? i tried squeezing some lime over this as others did.. dont know if i like it w/ or w/o better.. either way this was just asian tasting enough for us.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I thought it was OK but my partner loved it. I did as suggested and added peanut butter and lime juice and decreased the ketchup and sugar. Also as suggested, I added snow peas and cooked the chicken first. I used raw cashews and roasted them ahead of time. Served over basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This was awesome. I admit that I always read the reviews and incorporate the suggestions. Some people find that annoying, but that's the best part about this site - the pooled knowledge of so many cooks! The base recipe is an excellent base recipe. I made this spicier by first cooking 2 sliced habaneros in oil, then I dumped in the onion and other dry spices. I used roasted red thai chili sauce instead of chili garlic paste. I also tossed in some fresh chopped basil and red pepper flakes. I cooked the chicken in this mix and waited until it was cooked through before adding the veggies. Per other reviewer recommendations, I omitted the ketchup but used peanut butter and doubled the wet ingredients (broth, oyster sauce, soy sauce, peanut butter). At the end I mixed in some cornstarch to thicken the sauce and added the lime juice. This recipe totally blew away my Korean boyfriend who likes spicy food and also got rave reviews from a co-worker with whom i shared the leftovers. Oh and instead of toasting the cashews and cooking them whole, I ground them up with a mortar and pestle - about half a cup worth. I cooked with half the cashew crumbles and reserved the rest to top the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
The recipe was delicious! I made it pretty exact except for using Tofu instead of chicken. Also, I didn't use any Oyster Sauce since it's not vegetarian, but didn't affect the taste at all. Next time I'll try a vegetarian oyster sauce to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was pretty good. I pretty much followed the recipe plus the additions that elizabeth101 mentioned. Also I cooked the chicken separately and used vegetable broth since my husband is a vegetarian. I just cooked everything else, then left a little sauce in the skillet and cooked the chicken in that, and added it on top of my portion. I think it would have been a little bland without the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
doubled sauce ingredients and omitted ketchup and added juice out of 1 lime. was not impressed with this recipe. needs more...of something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This is a really good recipe that could be made wonderful by using a different cooking method. Next time I make this, I'll stir fry the veggies first, set them aside then cook the chicken, add the sauce and then add the veggies back in. At lot of reviewers added peanut butter as well, I'll probably do that, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Would add chicken earlier during onions & peppers. 2 T of sriracha. Needs a bit of corn starch. Add celery, maybe mango? Yum, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Super easy and delicious! I did add minced garlic, a dash more of soy sauce and extra chili paste : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This is great. I did modify slightly to add vegetables. I used fresh organic veggies and organic free range chicken from Trader Joes and this definitely tasted like a healthy meal. The veggies I used included broccoli, snow peas, one yellow squash, one red bell pepper, one yellow bell pepper, shredded carrots, crimini mushrooms, and an onion. I did things in a slightly different order than listed in the recipe. I heated the chili paste and then also minced some fresh garlic in the vegetable oil. Then I added the chicken. I cooked it until no longer pink and then added the broccoli and onion. I let those sautee for a few minutes before adding all the other vegetables. In addition to the sauce ingredients listed, I also added a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter, the juice from one lime, and some fresh cilantro. I omitted the sugar entirely as I did not think it was necessary. This was fresh and tasty. I accompanied it with jasmine rice. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

How to Make Cashew Chicken

Turn leftover chicken into delicious cashew chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States