Authentic South Indian Biryani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Very bland. The spice mix did not produce even a hint of what I think biryani should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was my first attempt at making south indian biryani. I added a few modifications to this recipe such as adding more cloves and cardamum. I also added a bay leaf to add more flavor and aroma. I also added the store bought biryani mix which made it tasty but extra spicy. I did not have any mint but it still came out flavorful. Overall this was a good biryani but I will make sure not too add too much of the biryani mix or find a more milder one. I think next time when my parents come to visit I may make it for them. I think they would be proud. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made this for a dinner party, and everyone was pleased. Some Indian food is too spicy for the average middle class American, but this was liked by all. I doubled the spice, per the other reviewers, but it was still a little bland. I kept the rice separate and spooned the mix on top of it on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I'm a good cook but something went wrong when I tried this. I used my Le Creuset large baking dish which normally cuts down the baking time but I only baked it for 30 mins. All the liquid was absorbed, the rice tasted okay but the chicken was way overcooked. And it really is very bland as others have mentioned which surprised me considering all the onions and spices used. I won't make this again but will still be learning how to cook good Indian food since I really love i! (Well, I love all food!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
My husband actually loved this, but I found it to be rather bland and my kids wouldn't touch it (they really like Indian curries, but this didn't appeal to them at all). If I were to make it again, I'd probably only do 1 1/2 or 2 cups of rice, I used 1 1/2 lbs of chicken and still found the proportion of rice to chicken to be rather high. I'd probably double all the spices as well, I felt the dish did not have much flavor, especially given all the work that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I honestly didn't like this very much; I have tried other Biryani recipes and this was the least one I liked. It lacked flavor and the instructions weren't very clear in my opinion. I did reduce the amount of yogurt significantly too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I wouldn't know about the authencity, as I have never had this before.......but I do know about flavour, flavour!! Unfortunately I didn't have time to bake, so did a little extra time on stove and basmati rice on the side. I added an extra clove and pod, cause you can never have too much of a good thing. Will be making and baking this one again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I'm the author of this: apologies. Please add the mint while cooking the gravy and add cilanthro at the very end in the gravy as well. The rice must be boiled half way before putting it in to bake, otherwise it will turn into mush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was very bland. I live in an Indian neighborhood and have had excellent Biryani before and this was a huge disappointment. It smells right but tastes like nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
My whole family really really enjoyed this dish. It wasn't too spicey for the picky kids but was interesting and flavorful enough for my husband and I to enjoy. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States