Authentic Saag Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Great recipe, except I can never find fenugreek. I use celery greens instead. Also I always sautee the spinach mixture in a little oil instead of boiling it. I just don't like waiting for the water to boil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I absolutely loved this! The next time I make it, I am going to follow the recipe exactly. I think it would even be better. I used frozen spinach and had no turmeric. I did everything else as directed, including making homemade paneer (easy!!!). Remember to make your rice ahead of time or during the cooking so that you can serve or eat it as soon as it's ready. I forgot the rice and had to make it last . .. .still delicious. I also agree with the reviewers who found the spice level adequate. I think it would be easy to adjust at the end with salt and red pepper, but it was very flavorful even without the turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was a very good recipe for a first try. I ended up adding a LOT more spices than was called for, but I love lots of flavor. I loved the end result and making my favorite Indian dish was a good experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Sharkface Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great recipe. You can feel comfortable making substitutions based on what you have on hand, with excellent results. I omitted the fenugreek, garam masala, and turmeric and used cardamom pods, coriander seeds & ground cumin instead. Doing so just changes the flavor ever-so-slightly, like the differences between saag at two different Indian restaurants. Also I didn't bother to puree the spinach - I bought pre-chopped, frozen spinach & it worked perfectly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe is great it's comparable to restaurant sang paneer. I added an extra tomato because felt it needed a little more acid. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I've had it better at one restraunt. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
We all thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It was very comparable to what I have eaten in Indian restaurants. Other than the fenugreek, I followed the directions as written. It is not a spicy dish, but it accompanies other spicy dishes beautifully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
My husband and I loved this dish! I didn't have fenugreek so just went without, and I did add some extra salt and reduced the cayenne by half. Thinking about adding some more ginger and cilantro like another reviewer suggested, plus using my homemade yogurt in lieu of cream next time. We will definitely make this again! I can't wait to get home and have the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I also found this to be somewhat bland, but my roommate loved it. I used coconut milk and homemade paneer and added some kale. I'll make this again, and spice it up according to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I don't give many 5-star ratings and this isn't a perfect recipe, but it produced the best saag I have made so far (after trying three other recipes). I am puzzled by the reviews that say this is bland. My husband and I like our food heavily seasoned (and spicy). Both of us were pleasantly surprised when we didn't feel the need to add chile paste, hot sauc, etc! I admittedly measured the spices generously, and I did use coconut milk instead if cream, too. In fact, I found that for the amount if spinach I used (1 lb), I needed to add almost a whole can of coconut milk to get the consistency I wanted. My Indian grocer was out of fresh fenugreek, so I used a couple tablespoons of dry fenugreek leaves, and they added a lot of flavor. I also made the paneer from scratch . . . Yum! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Bland. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States