Authentic Saag Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Ok, so I changed the recipe somewhat: omitted the fenugreek, and used a 12oz bag of thawed/frozen spinach only. Also left out the cayenne as I was kinda trying to replicate the rich and flavorful but quite mild saag paneer at our fave Indian restaurant. I followed the rest of the ingredients and cooking method pretty closely but didn't much care for the obvious lumps of tomato and onion, so I simply plopped it all back in the blender, gave it half a dozen good pulses, then returned it to the pan. I then added the fried paneer cubes, and let it slowly simmer for a bit. So while I won't be putting Yak & Yeti out of business any time soon, it turned out GREAT. BIG hit with my kids, especially! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This turned out great! Easily as good a flavor as what I've had in many restaurants. I did make some intentional and unintentional modifications that I thought would be helpful. FENUGREEK: I did not have fresh fenugreek or dried fenugreek so I added a couple of hefty pinches in, stirring and tasting each time. PANEER: I read that Queso Fresco was a better option than store bought paneer if you didn't have time to make paneer from scratch. It was the perfect consistency and flavor! I DO have to admit my cubes became crumbles because my heat was too high. Ooop! Lesson learned for next time. CREAM: As at least one other user suggested, I used coconut milk instead of cream. I used the whole can and let the moisture cook down. COOKING TIME: This did not take longer like others have suggested. I believe that longer cooking times have been due to spinach not being completely drained of water. SALT AND CAYENNE: I added a considerably smaller amount of both of these. I didn't add salt until the end and added it to taste. I only threw in a couple of pinches of cayenne because I knew my kids wouldn't touch it otherwise. :) Hope this helps! Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Followed all spices. Added chick peas and used coconut milk instead of cream. Full can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great! Add some chillies instead of cayenne and use both coconut milk and cream. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Great recipe, except I can never find fenugreek. I use celery greens instead. Also I always sautee the spinach mixture in a little oil instead of boiling it. I just don't like waiting for the water to boil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I absolutely loved this! The next time I make it, I am going to follow the recipe exactly. I think it would even be better. I used frozen spinach and had no turmeric. I did everything else as directed, including making homemade paneer (easy!!!). Remember to make your rice ahead of time or during the cooking so that you can serve or eat it as soon as it's ready. I forgot the rice and had to make it last . .. .still delicious. I also agree with the reviewers who found the spice level adequate. I think it would be easy to adjust at the end with salt and red pepper, but it was very flavorful even without the turmeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was a very good recipe for a first try. I ended up adding a LOT more spices than was called for, but I love lots of flavor. I loved the end result and making my favorite Indian dish was a good experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Sharkface Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great recipe. You can feel comfortable making substitutions based on what you have on hand, with excellent results. I omitted the fenugreek, garam masala, and turmeric and used cardamom pods, coriander seeds & ground cumin instead. Doing so just changes the flavor ever-so-slightly, like the differences between saag at two different Indian restaurants. Also I didn't bother to puree the spinach - I bought pre-chopped, frozen spinach & it worked perfectly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe is great it's comparable to restaurant sang paneer. I added an extra tomato because felt it needed a little more acid. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I've had it better at one restraunt. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
We all thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. It was very comparable to what I have eaten in Indian restaurants. Other than the fenugreek, I followed the directions as written. It is not a spicy dish, but it accompanies other spicy dishes beautifully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States