Authentic Saag Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
To make this truly authentic, use ghee instead of oil and get the fresh dried garam masala and grind it up. This dish came out delicious, but definitely took longer to cook then the prep/cook time designated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I don't give many 5-star ratings and this isn't a perfect recipe, but it produced the best saag I have made so far (after trying three other recipes). I am puzzled by the reviews that say this is bland. My husband and I like our food heavily seasoned (and spicy). Both of us were pleasantly surprised when we didn't feel the need to add chile paste, hot sauc, etc! I admittedly measured the spices generously, and I did use coconut milk instead if cream, too. In fact, I found that for the amount if spinach I used (1 lb), I needed to add almost a whole can of coconut milk to get the consistency I wanted. My Indian grocer was out of fresh fenugreek, so I used a couple tablespoons of dry fenugreek leaves, and they added a lot of flavor. I also made the paneer from scratch . . . Yum! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe is fantastic. I didn't use any ginger because my wife hates it, and it did take far longer than an hour but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This turned out great! Easily as good a flavor as what I've had in many restaurants. I did make some intentional and unintentional modifications that I thought would be helpful. FENUGREEK: I did not have fresh fenugreek or dried fenugreek so I added a couple of hefty pinches in, stirring and tasting each time. PANEER: I read that Queso Fresco was a better option than store bought paneer if you didn't have time to make paneer from scratch. It was the perfect consistency and flavor! I DO have to admit my cubes became crumbles because my heat was too high. Ooop! Lesson learned for next time. CREAM: As at least one other user suggested, I used coconut milk instead of cream. I used the whole can and let the moisture cook down. COOKING TIME: This did not take longer like others have suggested. I believe that longer cooking times have been due to spinach not being completely drained of water. SALT AND CAYENNE: I added a considerably smaller amount of both of these. I didn't add salt until the end and added it to taste. I only threw in a couple of pinches of cayenne because I knew my kids wouldn't touch it otherwise. :) Hope this helps! Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Great recipe. You can feel comfortable making substitutions based on what you have on hand, with excellent results. I omitted the fenugreek, garam masala, and turmeric and used cardamom pods, coriander seeds & ground cumin instead. Doing so just changes the flavor ever-so-slightly, like the differences between saag at two different Indian restaurants. Also I didn't bother to puree the spinach - I bought pre-chopped, frozen spinach & it worked perfectly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and found it to be bland and under-spiced. Spinach was the only flavor that you could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Quadruped this for 16 people. I was in a hurry, so I subbed in thawed frozen spinach. Sqeezed all the water out with my hands. Kale for fenugreek leaves and ground up fenugreek spice (2 tbsp) instead. I wanted flavour that would be subtle sweet.Used 2 cans coconut milk, 1.5 cups cereal cream. Knob of ginger the length of my ring finger, garlic was larger than normal, used 8 and topped up extra couple pinches of cimmamon. Dry cooked all spices on heat first. Used ghee snd coconut oil for frying.Himalayan pink salt, added 1 tsp at very end. Then I blended it beyond crazy, and since this was a dinner party I was going to (Indian Potluck on the fly )No time to make paneer! Took philly cream cheese with me and added it at the home I went for potluck, after a quick reheat, added a squirt of lemon and swirled it in. Then, to the table. So far, so good. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canuckchef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
It took longer than the recipe stated and needed much more ginger and other spices. The paneer is very chewy when prepared this way, it is better if one soaks it in water at least a day in the refridgerator after frying. The spinach will loose its color unless submerged in ice water after cooking. Goes great with saffron rice and mango chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jacobs Glatz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great! Add some chillies instead of cayenne and use both coconut milk and cream. Easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was a very good recipe for a first try. I ended up adding a LOT more spices than was called for, but I love lots of flavor. I loved the end result and making my favorite Indian dish was a good experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Sharkface Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States