Authentic Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I noticed that there are complaints about these being tasteless. I used 1 tsp. of salt and omitted one cup of the breadcrumbs and the olive oil called for with the potatoes. I also used Yukon gold potatoes, leaving the skins on. Otherwise I made the recipe as is. The flavor and texture was great! I used a large icecream scoop to measure with. Potato pancakes tend to fall apart right at first if you don't use eggs, so I just press them down and scoot the stray pieces into place. I cover the skillet for the first four minutes. The steam helps the potatoes cook and hold together when you go to flip the patties over. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this recipe tonight. I was easy and SO good. I did make some additions. First, I made the recipe without omitting anything. Then I added 2 eggs & 1/3 C. Sour cream. They were exactly like the restaurant here the Old European. Mmmm! Hubby loved them. Kids did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I love these, they are my family's favourite breakfast. I decided to bake them this time on a cookie sheet with one of those plastic non-stick things on the cookie sheet so there's no sticking. I spread the potato mix over it without any spaces and made it flat. Then baked it at 350 for 40 mins. You lose some of the fried flavour, but it seems healthier to me. I used a pizza cutter to split them into wafer sized pieces. This way if much less work than frying and actually takes about the same amount of time because you can only fry about 2 or 3 at a time and each of those takes about 5-6 mins and smokes up the room pretty good. I will probably still bake and fry depending on what I want. I have never added the bread crumbs and use some eggs in it. The recipe is very versatile and you can mix up the amount of ingredients all over the place and it will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Yum Yum. I used red potatoes with the skin left on and omitted the lemon juice and flour. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was a fine recipe, Authentic is not the right words though. There would be no fresh dill at the particular season these tasty taters were most frequently enjoyed which is winter not spring and summer as much. not to mention the oils and such but it was alright. Dill's flavour can hardly hold up because it is not a hardy herb meant for the extended high heats for frying. use herbs from a woody stalk if you want more flavour. Oregano, marzipan, etc. I prefer to salt my potato cakes after frying but that's just me. anways that's all for now sorry if this offends anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
The recipe was easy to follow however it took forever to grate all those potatos! The mixture didn't tend to stick together very well so had to add more flour. They fried up nicely as long as the patties weren't too thick. Flavour was okay. Very watery mixture at bottom of bowl so ended up throwing out approx. one potato's worth. Probably would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
make them as a side dish, family ate all of these before eating pork chops. Next time, no pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
These were very good. Didn't have as much flavor as I would have liked, but still tasty. I will definately make again with more spices next time. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were absolutely great! We added a sweet potato to add more color and a more interesting flavor. They weren't as oily as other recipes, which made them really nice. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was a really good recipe. I found that it didn't stick together very well, but that might have been because I used baby potatoes and had to guess at all the amounts. I also forgot the flour! :P Next time I make these, I'm going to add less onion, and I might mash the potatoes before I mix in other stuff. Overall, they were excellent! Very tangy, didn't taste like bland potatoes, which are good only up to a point. Very filling and I will recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States