Authentic Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this recipe tonight. I was easy and SO good. I did make some additions. First, I made the recipe without omitting anything. Then I added 2 eggs & 1/3 C. Sour cream. They were exactly like the restaurant here the Old European. Mmmm! Hubby loved them. Kids did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were absolutely great! We added a sweet potato to add more color and a more interesting flavor. They weren't as oily as other recipes, which made them really nice. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
The taste was ok, a little bland. However, the texture was really terrible, maybe how I would imagine fried playdough. In fairness, I have never had potato pancakes before, so perhaps this is the normal texture? Either way, it didn't go over too well with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Yum Yum. I used red potatoes with the skin left on and omitted the lemon juice and flour. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was a really good recipe. I found that it didn't stick together very well, but that might have been because I used baby potatoes and had to guess at all the amounts. I also forgot the flour! :P Next time I make these, I'm going to add less onion, and I might mash the potatoes before I mix in other stuff. Overall, they were excellent! Very tangy, didn't taste like bland potatoes, which are good only up to a point. Very filling and I will recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
The recipe was easy to follow however it took forever to grate all those potatos! The mixture didn't tend to stick together very well so had to add more flour. They fried up nicely as long as the patties weren't too thick. Flavour was okay. Very watery mixture at bottom of bowl so ended up throwing out approx. one potato's worth. Probably would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
These were just awful! They had no flavour, the bread crumbs made them taste very pasty, and no one here would eat a second one. Too many things I would change to list them here. I would keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
These were very good. Didn't have as much flavor as I would have liked, but still tasty. I will definately make again with more spices next time. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I've made these twice already! My husband and son love them, I like them too. My husband had to share some with people at work and they liked them too. This is a great recipe to make for a large group of people because this recipe makes a lot. We had some left over for a day or two. I had to send some over to the in-laws. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States