Authentic Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I love these, they are my family's favourite breakfast. I decided to bake them this time on a cookie sheet with one of those plastic non-stick things on the cookie sheet so there's no sticking. I spread the potato mix over it without any spaces and made it flat. Then baked it at 350 for 40 mins. You lose some of the fried flavour, but it seems healthier to me. I used a pizza cutter to split them into wafer sized pieces. This way if much less work than frying and actually takes about the same amount of time because you can only fry about 2 or 3 at a time and each of those takes about 5-6 mins and smokes up the room pretty good. I will probably still bake and fry depending on what I want. I have never added the bread crumbs and use some eggs in it. The recipe is very versatile and you can mix up the amount of ingredients all over the place and it will still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
awesome...hot or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a perfect! My daughter hates and is allergic to eggs, an this is the only Latkes recipe that does not call for eggs. Look forward to make!! Also love the use of carrot and greens in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I've made this recipe several times now and haven't changed a thing. I think it's a fantastic recipe; my family loves it and i've recommended it to others. I usually double the recipe to freeze some for later. They reheat really well in a lightly oiled pan. I do press the extra water out after shredding the potatoes and it helps tremendously with the excess water problem that another reviewer complained of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Yum Yum. I used red potatoes with the skin left on and omitted the lemon juice and flour. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
These were absolutely great! We added a sweet potato to add more color and a more interesting flavor. They weren't as oily as other recipes, which made them really nice. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this recipe tonight. I was easy and SO good. I did make some additions. First, I made the recipe without omitting anything. Then I added 2 eggs & 1/3 C. Sour cream. They were exactly like the restaurant here the Old European. Mmmm! Hubby loved them. Kids did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I noticed that there are complaints about these being tasteless. I used 1 tsp. of salt and omitted one cup of the breadcrumbs and the olive oil called for with the potatoes. I also used Yukon gold potatoes, leaving the skins on. Otherwise I made the recipe as is. The flavor and texture was great! I used a large icecream scoop to measure with. Potato pancakes tend to fall apart right at first if you don't use eggs, so I just press them down and scoot the stray pieces into place. I cover the skillet for the first four minutes. The steam helps the potatoes cook and hold together when you go to flip the patties over. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States